Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2243EST. P2243

YODERS BUTCHER BARN

Family-run USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Grantsville, Maryland, with custom work and freezer beef.

3521 chestnut ridge road, grantsville , Maryland 21536 · Garrett County

yodersbutcherbarn.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter (packages marked Not for Sale)Retail-exempt sales

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M2243+P2243, Very Small size class, grant of inspection dated April 18, 2024.
  • ·Cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection; under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Both custom-exempt and USDA-inspected slaughter and processing offered, per the website and federal record.
  • ·Freezer beef quarters, halves, and wholes with posted price ranges and deposits, current as of February 2026 per the site.
  • ·Smoked and cured items are offered on custom work only; the site states they are not yet available under inspection.

About YODERS BUTCHER BARN

Yoder's Butcher Barn operates at 3521 Chestnut Ridge Road in Grantsville, Garrett County, Maryland, under FSIS establishment number M2243+P2243. The federal record lists meat processing, meat slaughter, and poultry processing activities, with cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small, places it in slaughter volume category 1 (under 1,000 head per year), and shows a grant of inspection dated April 18, 2024. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, as well as retail-exempt sales.

The shop describes itself as a small, family-owned meat processing business run by third generation butchers, and says it is almost completely family operated. Its stated services include custom and inspected slaughter and processing, freezer beef and pork, retail sales, deer processing, and emergency services for injured livestock. Under custom processing the shop lists hot dogs, bologna, snack sticks, sausage links, smoked sausage, brats, and smoked and cured hams and bacon. The site states that smoked items are not yet offered under inspection.

Winter hours are posted as Monday through Friday 8am to 4pm, Saturday 10am to 1pm, and closed Sunday, as listed. The shop notes that it is sometimes closed during normal hours for family events and vacations and directs customers to its Google page for the current week's hours. Cut sheets are published for beef, hog, lamb and goat, and deer, with separate custom and USDA versions for beef and hog.

Services

  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing
  • USDA-inspected slaughter and processing
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing (per FSIS activity listing)
  • Retail sales
  • Deer processing
  • Emergency services for injured livestock
  • Cut and wrap to customer cut sheet
  • Curing and smoking (custom only)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogs

Products and retail

  • Freezer beef in quarters, halves, and wholes
  • Whole pig with basic processing
  • Hot dogs
  • Bologna
  • Snack sticks
  • Sausage links
  • Smoked sausage
  • Bratwurst
  • Cured and smoked hams
  • Bacon

Hours as listed

Winter Hours: Mon-Fri 8am-4pm; Saturday 10am-1pm; Sunday CLOSED. The shop notes it is sometimes closed during normal hours for family events or vacations and posts updated hours on its Google page.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both custom-exempt and USDA-inspected slaughter to FSIS and offers cattle and hog slaughter under inspection, at a Very Small scale of under 1,000 head per year. Cut sheets are provided separately for beef, hog, lamb and goat, and deer, with distinct custom and USDA versions for beef and hog. The shop asks that cut sheets be turned in as soon as possible: no more than four days after drop off for beef, and the same or next day for hogs. Emergency service for injured livestock is listed. Custom work can include hot dogs, bologna, snack sticks, sausage links, smoked sausage, brats, and smoked and cured hams and bacon, while smoked items are stated to be unavailable under inspection at this time. Scheduling procedures, booking lead times, and per head kill fees are not stated in the sources on file.

YODERS BUTCHER BARN reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Retail sales are listed as available at the shop, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Freezer beef and pork are sold in bulk. Posted prices are a quarter beef at $1,000 to $1,300 with a $200 deposit, average hanging weight 175 to 225 pounds and take home weight 110 to 140 pounds; a half beef at $1,900 to $2,300 with a $400 deposit, hanging weight 350 to 450 pounds and take home weight 230 to 280 pounds; and a whole beef at $3,800 to $4,600 with a $500 deposit, hanging weight 700 to 900 pounds and take home weight 460 to 560 pounds. A whole pig with basic processing runs roughly $600, or roughly $700 with hams and bacon added, with links, brats, smoked sausage, hams, and bacon costing extra. The site states prices are estimates current as of February 2026 and subject to change. Delivery and shipping are not mentioned.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about YODERS BUTCHER BARN

Does Yoder's Butcher Barn slaughter animals under USDA inspection?
Yes. FSIS lists meat slaughter activity for establishment M2243+P2243, with cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection, and the website advertises custom and inspected slaughter and processing.
Can I buy meat directly as a household?
The website states retail sales are available and lists freezer beef and pork. The plant also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Quarters, halves, and whole beef are sold with deposits of $200, $400, and $500 respectively, per posted prices current as of February 2026.
Does the shop process deer?
Yes, deer processing is listed among its services, and a deer cut sheet is published on the site.
How far in advance should animals be booked, and what are the kill fees?
Booking lead times and per head slaughter fees are not stated in the sources on file. The site does state cut sheets must be returned within four days of drop off for beef and the same or next day for hogs.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
April 18, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.yodersbutcherbarn.com/, https://www.yodersbutcherbarn.com/about-1) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near grantsville