Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7415EST. P7415EST. V7415

HOFFMAN'S QUALITY MEATS

Doing business as ROY L. HOFFMAN & SONS, INC.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail market in Hagerstown, Maryland.

13225 CEARFOSS PIKE, HAGERSTOWN, Maryland 21740 · Washington County

hoffmanmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing of meat and poultry, plus voluntary inspection categories.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter, so farm customers can have their own animals processed and returned Not for Sale.
  • ·Posted custom slaughter and cut rates effective May 1, 2025, based on hanging weight.
  • ·Does not accept downer or dead livestock; animals must be in sound condition and able to walk in.
  • ·Retail market plus wholesale and private label programs, with mail order listed among product categories.

About HOFFMAN'S QUALITY MEATS

Hoffman's Quality Meats, operating as Roy L. Hoffman & Sons, Inc., is a USDA-inspected establishment at 13225 Cearfoss Pike in Hagerstown, Washington County, Maryland. It holds establishment numbers M7415, P7415 and V7415, with a grant of inspection date on file of November 14, 2017. FSIS lists it as a small establishment carrying out meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, poultry processing and the voluntary counterparts of each. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and the plant's reported slaughter volume category is 2.0. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes a business operating since 1923 and states it has served the area for about 100 years. Alongside the plant, it runs a retail market described as a country market, with product categories including beef, pork, poultry, sausage, ham, hot dogs and brats, specialty cut meats, deli and kitchen items, dairy, bakery, seafood, exotic meats, spices, party platters and whole pigs, package deals and gifts, and mail order. The site states that the Camden Classic Frank and Camden Jumbo Frank are the official hot dog at Oriole Park at Camden Yards and are sold at concession stands there.

Beyond the retail counter, the website lists custom butchering, wholesale and private labeling as services. Wholesale product is offered in bulk or case-ready overwrapped with labels for organizations, grocery stores and supercenters. The private labeling page says the company works with customers on product ratios, spice blends, organic and natural alternatives, product types and market trends. Ownership details beyond the corporate name on the federal record are not on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry slaughter and poultry processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing, meat and poultry
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Custom butchering for livestock and wild game
  • Cut and wrap to customer specifications
  • Vacuum packaging
  • Curing and smoking
  • Sausage making, loose and rope or stuffed
  • Patty making
  • Retail market
  • Wholesale supply
  • Private labeling
  • Mail order

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Country sausage
  • Camden Classic Frank and Camden Jumbo Frank hot dogs
  • Fresh cut beef
  • Pork
  • Poultry
  • Ham, smoked ham, smoked shoulder, smoked pork loin
  • Bacon
  • Smoked ham hocks
  • Breakfast links and sizzlers
  • Sausage patties
  • Snack sticks and jerky
  • Brats
  • Specialty cut meats
  • Seafood
  • Exotic meats
  • Spices
  • Party platters and whole pigs
  • Family and party packs
  • Bakery, deli, and dairy items

Hours as listed

The website states the shop is open six days a week, Monday through Saturday. Specific daily opening and closing times are not given on the pages on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The website says the butcher handles beef, pork, goats and lambs, and can often make arrangements for other varieties, along with wild game. Posted slaughtering rates effective May 1, 2025 are based on hanging weight: beef slaughter $160, chill beef and breakdown $45, cut only whole or half 55 cents per pound, cut only front or hind 75 cents per pound, vacuum packing $1.10 per pound, multiple customer splitting 25 cents per pound, patties 70 cents per pound, stew, stir fry and kabobs 25 cents per pound, sandwich steaks and cube steak 25 cents per pound, and a $225 backbone charge for animals over 30 months. Lamb and goat is $165 for slaughter, cut and vacuum pack, or $45 kill only, with sausage at $1.25 per pound loose and $1.65 per pound rope or stuffed. Hogs are $100 slaughter and skinning or $125 slaughter and scalding, with sausage at $1.02 per pound loose vacuum packed and $1.13 per pound rope or stuffed vacuum packed. Curing charges include bacon at $9.95 plus $1.80 sliced and packed, smoked ham, smoked shoulder, smoked pork loin and RTE smoked ham at $25 each, ham hocks at $5, breakfast links or sizzlers at $1.70 per pound with a 10 pound minimum, and sausage patties at $1.30 per pound. Prices are subject to change. The plant states it accepts only livestock in sound condition, without known diseases, and able to walk in on their own, and does not accept downers or dead livestock. Animals are dressed, chilled and custom cut to specification or retained for sausage, snack sticks, jerky and hot dogs, and the website says each animal is processed separately and tracked so customers receive meat from the animal they dropped off. Beef, lamb or goat, and hog cut sheets are offered on the site. Scheduling is by contacting the butcher; booking lead times and minimums are not stated.

HOFFMAN'S QUALITY MEATS reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail market selling fresh cut meats, sausage, ham, hot dogs and brats, specialty cut meats, deli, dairy, bakery, seafood, exotic meats, spices, party platters and whole pigs, and package deals and gifts, with weekly specials posted online. Mail order is listed as a product category, and the site says the Camden Classic Frank and Camden Jumbo Frank can be bought for home as well as at Oriole Park at Camden Yards concessions. The site offers a portion guide of half a pound of boneless meat per adult and a quarter pound per child, or one pound of bone-in meat per adult and half a pound per child. Sales of halves and quarters to households are not described on the pages on file, and delivery is not mentioned.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about HOFFMAN'S QUALITY MEATS

What species does this plant slaughter?
FSIS records report cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. The website adds that the butcher works up beef, pork, goats and lambs for custom work, and can often arrange other varieties, including wild game.
Can a farmer have an animal processed here for personal use?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website posts custom slaughter, cutting, sausage and curing rates and offers beef, lamb or goat, and hog cut sheets. Whether the plant is currently taking bookings is not stated; contact the butcher at (301) 739-2332.
Can households buy meat directly?
Yes as listed. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and the website describes a retail market open six days a week, Monday through Saturday, with weekly specials, package deals, party platters and whole pigs, and a mail order category.
Are halal, kosher, or organic certifications offered?
None are stated in the sources on file. The private labeling page mentions organic and natural alternatives as options that can be discussed with wholesale customers, but no certification is claimed.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry
Grant on file
November 14, 2017
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.hoffmanmeats.com/, https://www.hoffmanmeats.com/our-shop/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near HAGERSTOWN