Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M10808EST. P10808

Shuff Meat Inc.

Very small USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Thurmont, Maryland, operating as Shuff's Meat Market.

12247 Baugher Rd., Thurmont, Maryland 21788 · Frederick County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA FSIS establishment numbers M10808 and P10808, grant of inspection dated November 26, 2021.
  • ·Listed by FSIS for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Very small plant, reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.

About Shuff Meat Inc.

Shuff Meat Inc. operates at 12247 Baugher Rd. in Thurmont, Frederick County, Maryland, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M10808 and P10808. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of November 26, 2021. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it handles animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales, which is consistent with an on-site meat counter. Secondary listings and a Facebook page identify the same Baugher Road address under the name Shuff's Meat Market and describe it as a butcher shop.

No company website text is on file, and the listed web presence is a Facebook page. Details beyond the federal record, including booking procedures, fees, cut and wrap options, product lists, and current hours, are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should contact the plant directly at (301) 271-2231 to confirm what it handles.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogsroaster pigslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, with resulting packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS classifies the operation as very small, with a reported slaughter volume of under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity is likely limited. Booking lead times, drop-off procedures, kill fees, hanging weight charges, and cut and wrap options are not stated in the available sources. Producers should call (301) 271-2231 to confirm species handled and current scheduling, as listed.

Shuff Meat Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and secondary listings describe the Baugher Road location as Shuff's Meat Market, a butcher shop. Specific products, cuts, bundles, halves or quarters, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not described in any source on file. Households should contact the shop directly to confirm what is available at the counter.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Shuff Meat Inc.

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The federal record reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. FSIS also lists poultry processing activity at the establishment.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Is there a retail counter?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and secondary listings describe the address as Shuff's Meat Market, a butcher shop. A product list and confirmed hours are not on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not established by the sources on file. Third party listings and a Facebook page exist but no reliable current hours are recorded here. Call (301) 271-2231 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
November 26, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Thurmont