Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7882EST. P7882

Horst Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail meat market in Hagerstown, Maryland.

17807 Reiff Rd., Hagerstown, Maryland 21740 · Washington County

horst-meats-retail-market-llc.lucky-three-seven.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing; cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported as slaughter species.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter, so farmer-owned animals can be processed and returned Not for Sale.
  • ·Reports retail-exempt sales, consistent with the on-site retail meat market described on the directory page.
  • ·Custom cutting to customer specifications and special orders for large gatherings are described in the website text and reviews.
  • ·Address differs slightly between sources: 17807 Reiff Rd. in the FSIS record, 17809 Reiff Church Road in a chamber directory.

About Horst Meats

Horst Meats operates at 17807 Reiff Rd. in Hagerstown, Washington County, Maryland, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M7882 and P7882. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection dated February 26, 2020, and a Very Small size class. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant reports both custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 2.0, above the under 1,000 head per year tier.

A directory page on file for Horst Meats Retail Market LLC describes a family-owned butcher shop in Hagerstown selling beef, pork, chicken, specialty sausages, steaks, roasts, lunch meats, cheeses, groceries, honey, and homemade potato chips, with custom cutting to customer specifications and special orders for large events. That page attributes Amish roots to the business but gives no founding year. A Yelp snippet for Horst Meats states that in addition to wholesale and processing meat, the business offers a retail store. Hours, booking lead times, custom processing fees, and cut and wrap details are not stated in the sources on file. Address listings vary slightly between sources: FSIS records 17807 Reiff Rd., while a chamber directory lists 17809 Reiff Church Road.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail meat counter
  • Custom cutting to customer specifications
  • Special orders, including large orders for events
  • Curbside order pickup, as described in a customer review
  • Wholesale, as described on a Yelp listing

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Chicken
  • Specialty sausages
  • Steaks
  • Roasts
  • Lunch meats
  • Cheeses
  • Whole and half hogs, as described in a directory question and answer
  • Pigs feet
  • Pannhaas and liver pudding, as described in a directory question and answer
  • Soup and broth bones
  • Honey
  • Homemade potato chips
  • Groceries

For farmers and ranchers

FSIS records show Horst Meats as a Very Small plant with both slaughter and processing activities, slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it will process animals a customer owns and return the meat in packages marked Not for Sale. Its slaughter volume category of 2.0 places it above the smallest tier. A directory question and answer suggests the shop processes and packages for growers who sell their own product and advises calling for pricing. Booking windows, scheduling minimums, hanging weight charges, cut and wrap fees, and whether the plant is currently taking new custom work are not stated in the sources on file.

Horst Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The directory page on file describes a retail market with a staffed counter where beef, pork, chicken, sausages, steaks, roasts, lunch meats, and cheeses are cut to order during a visit, along with groceries, honey, and homemade potato chips. Special orders and large event orders are described as available, and one reviewer describes placing a large order by phone and receiving curbside loading. A question and answer on that page indicates whole or half hogs can be ordered, and that retail case meat is most likely conventional rather than grass fed and finished. Prices, hours, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Horst Meats

Can I bring my own animal for slaughter and processing?
The federal record shows Horst Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, lead times, and fees are not stated in the sources on file, and no source confirms whether the plant is currently accepting new custom work.
What species are slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection. Chicken is described as a retail product on the directory page, but poultry slaughter is not listed in the federal record.
Is there a retail store, and what are the hours?
Yes, the sources describe a retail meat market with a staffed counter, cheeses, and groceries, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Hours are not stated in any source on file.
Do they sell grass fed beef, and can I buy a whole or half animal?
A question and answer on the directory page states that retail case meat is most likely conventional and suggests calling about producer-specific product. The same page indicates whole or half hogs can be ordered. Prices for a whole hog or half beef are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
February 26, 2020
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://horst-meats-retail-market-llc.lucky-three-seven.com/, https://horst-meats-retail-market-llc.lucky-three-seven.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Hagerstown