Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47032EST. P47032EST. V47032

Heart O' Lakes Quality Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail butcher counter in Pelican Rapids, Minnesota.

14 Industrial Park Dr., Pelican Rapids, Minnesota 56572 · Otter Tail County

heartolakesmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Website lists a retail butcher counter with weekday and Saturday morning hours.
  • ·Federal name on file is Heart O' Lakes Quality Meats; the website uses Heart O' Lakes Meats.

About Heart O' Lakes Quality Meats

Heart O' Lakes Quality Meats operates at 14 Industrial Park Dr. in Pelican Rapids, Otter Tail County, Minnesota, under FSIS establishment numbers M47032, P47032 and V47032. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, meat identification, and voluntary processing and slaughter activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of November 4, 2021. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small, and its reported slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year.

Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The establishment's website presents the business as Heart O' Lakes Meats, a neighborhood butcher shop serving the Heart O' Lakes region. The site describes fresh cut beef, pork and lamb prepared by its butchers, in-store shopping with staff assistance, custom meat cutting and processing tailored to customer preferences, and weekly specials posted to its Facebook page. Pricing, booking lead times and cut sheet details are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Livestock slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter
  • Custom meat cutting
  • Retail butcher counter and in-store shopping

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowssheeplambsbison

Products and retail

  • Fresh cut beef
  • Fresh cut pork
  • Fresh cut lamb
  • Weekly specials posted on Facebook

Hours as listed

Monday through Friday 8:00 AM to 5:00 PM; Saturday 9:00 AM to 12:00 PM; Sunday closed, as listed on the establishment website.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison slaughtered under inspection, plus custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, with those packages marked Not for Sale. Reported slaughter volume falls in the under 1,000 head per year category and FSIS lists the plant as Very Small, so capacity is limited. The website says custom meat cutting and processing is tailored to customer needs. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, hanging weight pricing and drop-off instructions are not stated in the sources on file; producers would need to contact the plant at (218) 863-6328.

Heart O' Lakes Quality Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes an in-store butcher shop where customers can browse the full selection in person and get help from staff selecting cuts, with hand-selected beef, pork and lamb cut fresh on site. Weekly specials and new products are announced on the shop's Facebook page. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Halves and quarters, bundle boxes, delivery, shipping and online ordering are not mentioned in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Heart O' Lakes Quality Meats

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The FSIS record reports cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison slaughtered under inspection. Poultry processing is listed as an activity, but poultry slaughter is not among the reported slaughter species.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and its website lists custom meat cutting and processing. Scheduling, minimums and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Does it sell directly to households?
Yes as listed. The website describes in-store shopping and fresh cut beef, pork and lamb, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales. Shipping, delivery and online ordering are not mentioned.
Is the meat USDA inspected?
The establishment holds federal grants of inspection under numbers M47032, P47032 and V47032, with a grant date on file of November 4, 2021. Product from custom-exempt work is marked Not for Sale and cannot be resold.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
November 4, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://heartolakesmeats.com/, https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/apply-grant-inspection/meat-poultry-egg-inspection-directory) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Pelican Rapids