Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M823

Alsager Meats

USDA-inspected beef and pork slaughter and processing plant with a retail butcher counter in Audubon, Minnesota.

343 4th street, Audubon, Minnesota 56511 · Becker County

alsagermeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle and hogs under federal inspection at under 1,000 head per year, per FSIS volume category 1.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales to FSIS.
  • ·Website describes the Audubon site as its full-service butcher shop, with other retail locations in Fargo and Jamestown, ND, and Breckenridge, MN.
  • ·Priced beef and pork butcher bundles are listed on the website, from $49.99 to $900.
  • ·Beef is described on the website as coming direct from the family ranch near Walcott, North Dakota.

About Alsager Meats

Alsager Meats operates a very small USDA-inspected plant at 343 4th Street in Audubon, Becker County, Minnesota, under establishment number M823. The federal record lists both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. The grant of inspection on file dates to May 25, 2023. FSIS places the plant in slaughter volume category 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year, and the establishment reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes Alsager Meats as a fifth-generation ranching family based just outside Walcott, North Dakota, that raises cattle and sells beef direct from the ranch. The site describes the Audubon location as its full-service butcher shop and lists additional retail locations in Fargo and Jamestown, North Dakota, and Breckenridge, Minnesota. The website states that products are sourced from the family ranch and from other local farms and suppliers.

Because the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, it handles animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, in addition to inspected product. The website does not describe booking procedures, per-head charges, or cut and wrap terms for livestock owners, so those details are not yet on file beyond the federal record.

Services

  • Beef slaughter under federal inspection
  • Hog slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail butcher counter
  • Butcher bundle orders by phone
  • Gift cards

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogs

Products and retail

  • Ribeye steaks
  • NY strip steaks
  • Tenderloin steaks
  • Sirloin steaks
  • T-bone steaks
  • Chuck roast
  • Stew meat
  • Ground beef (85/15)
  • Thick cut bacon
  • Ring sausage
  • Ground seasoned pork sausage
  • Fresh pork links (maple or original)
  • Bacon-wrapped boneless pork chops
  • Bone-in and boneless pork chops
  • Baby back ribs
  • Bone-in pork butt roast
  • Pork tenderloin
  • Marinated chicken breasts
  • Italian ground sausage
  • Hashbrowns

Hours as listed

Audubon location: Monday through Friday 8 AM to 6 PM, Saturday 9 AM to 5 PM, Sunday closed.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows Alsager Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale, and it is licensed for cattle and hog slaughter under federal inspection. FSIS classes it as very small, with a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. The website does not publish scheduling lead times, drop-off instructions, kill fees, hanging weight rates, or cut and wrap options, so a producer would need to contact the Audubon shop at (218) 439-6909 to confirm whether custom work is being booked as listed.

Alsager Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The Audubon location is described on the company website as a full-service butcher shop with a retail counter and experienced butchers who help customers select cuts. The site lists priced butcher bundles ordered by contacting any location, including the CRACK of DAWN breakfast box at $49.99, THE STEAK WHISPERER'S SELECTION at $69.99, THE MOO, OINK & CLUCK and PORKY'S PETITE PACK at $99.99 each, STEAK ME HOME TONIGHT at $229.99, PORKY'S PRIME PACK at $249.99, THE HIGH STEAKS at $499.99, and the RANCHERS RESERVE at $900. Gift cards and an email list are also offered. The sources do not state whether halves or quarters are sold, and shipping or delivery is not described.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Alsager Meats

Does Alsager Meats slaughter animals for farmers?
The federal record lists Meat Slaughter activity for cattle and hogs and reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and returned marked Not for Sale. Booking details, fees, and lead times are not stated in the sources. Contact the plant to confirm availability as listed.
Can households buy meat directly at the Audubon location?
Yes, the website describes Audubon as a full-service butcher shop with a retail counter, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Listed hours are Monday through Friday 8 AM to 6 PM, Saturday 9 AM to 5 PM, closed Sunday.
Are halves or quarters of beef available?
Not stated in the sources. The website advertises priced butcher bundles of individual cuts rather than halves or quarters.
Does Alsager Meats ship orders?
Shipping and delivery are not mentioned in the sources. The website says to contact any of its locations to order bundles.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
May 25, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.alsagermeats.com/, https://www.alsagermeats.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Audubon