Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47186EST. V47186

Cloud's Meats Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Carthage, Missouri, with a retail counter and deer processing.

2013 Paradise Ln., Carthage, Missouri 64836 · Jasper County

cloudsmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptGrant of inspection date on file 2021-08-16Custom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS record lists slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison, with a volume category of under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Both federally inspected and custom-exempt work are reported, so animals can be processed for resale or returned to the owner marked Not for Sale.
  • ·Website states processing is by appointment only, generally booked two to three weeks out, and that no killing takes place during most of November.
  • ·Website states the plant processes over 1,500 deer per year and participates in Missouri's Share The Harvest program, with published 2025 deer processing prices.
  • ·Retail counter, deli, smoked meats, catering and in-store EBT-SNAP acceptance are described on the website.

About Cloud's Meats Inc.

Cloud's Meats Inc. operates at 2013 Paradise Ln. in Carthage, Jasper County, Missouri, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M47186 and V47186. The federal record lists meat slaughter and meat processing, plus voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat, with a grant of inspection date on file of August 16, 2021. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The business website states that Cloud's Meats has custom processed beef and pork for southwest Missouri since 1959, tracing back to Emmett and Pauline Hammond, who sold to Lloyd and Pat Cloud. The site says the third generation runs the business now, with a fourth generation helping after school and in summers, and lists Pat and Mike Cloud as owners. The site states the operation is inspected to sell wholesale and private label, makes a full range of smoked meats and sausages, and runs a retail area with local meats, smoked products and deli, along with catering.

Deer and wild game are described as a large part of the fall and winter workload. The website states the plant processes over 1,500 deer per year for hunters in the four state area and participates in the Missouri Department of Conservation's Share The Harvest program. The site also notes that Cloud's does not kill during most of November because of deer season.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Custom beef and pork processing by appointment
  • Lamb and goat processing by appointment
  • Bison slaughter and butchering on site by appointment
  • Elk and wild hog processing, accepted skinned and quartered
  • Deer processing, including walk-in and drop-off
  • Caping for head mounts, field dressing, antler removal
  • Curing and hickory smoking
  • Jerky, snack stick, summer sausage and bratwurst making
  • Catering
  • Retail counter and deli
  • Wholesale and private label (as stated on the website)

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambsbison

Products and retail

  • Beef steaks including ribeye, KC strip, T-bone, porterhouse, sirloin, flank, skirt, tri-tip
  • Ground beef, ground chuck, ground round, Pig and Bull blend, patties
  • Beef roasts, brisket, stew meat, soup bones, liver, tongue
  • Pork chops, loin roasts, shoulder roasts, cutlets, ribs, ground pork
  • Hickory smoked and cured bacon, Canadian bacon, bacon ends, pepper bacon
  • Hams, ham steaks, smoked chops, jowls, bean meat
  • Bratwurst in several varieties, hot dogs, franks, fresh and Italian sausage
  • Snack sticks (original, honey BBQ, hot, pepperjack, bison)
  • Jerky (original, bourbon peppercorn, sweet Asian) and summer sausage
  • Buffalo steaks, roasts, patties, bratwurst, stew meat, snack sticks and jerky
  • Elk burger and elk snack sticks
  • Chicken, including stuffed chicken breasts and whole chicken
  • Seafood including tuna, salmon, mahi mahi, tilapia, cod, scallops, shrimp, crab cakes
  • Select, Choice, Prime and Mini retail bundles

Hours as listed

Store hours as listed on the website: Monday through Friday 7:30am to 5:00pm, Saturdays 9:00am to 12:00pm, Sundays closed. The site also references separate deer season hours.

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that Cloud's processes by appointment only and that customers should call to schedule an animal. It says the plant is generally booked two to three weeks out, and possibly longer during winter months, and that it does not kill during most of November because of deer season. Animals may be brought the evening before the scheduled slaughter day or by 8:00 AM the day of, unless special arrangements are made. Cutting instructions are to be called in within 24 hours of drop off, and a customer representative walks the owner through those instructions. The site says beef is looked over by the crew, double wrapped and quick frozen; all curing and smoking is done on site using brown sugar cure and hickory wood; lambs and goats are processed by appointment with a basic per head fee for butchering, cutting and wrapping; buffalo is butchered on site by appointment with cutting similar to beef; and elk and wild hogs are accepted skinned and quartered. Custom slaughter fees for livestock are not stated in the sources. The federal record shows both federally inspected and custom-exempt slaughter, so animals can be handled for resale or for the owner's own use, and the plant reports a slaughter volume of under 1,000 head per year.

Cloud's Meats Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website lists a retail shop with products available for purchase and pickup in store, and states that EBT-SNAP benefit cards are accepted for in-store purchases only. Retail listings include fresh beef, pork and chicken cuts, ground beef and patties, hickory smoked and cured bacon and hams, bratwurst, hot dogs, snack sticks, jerky, summer sausage, buffalo and elk items, and seafood. Four bundles are listed, Select, Choice, Prime and Mini, with the site directing buyers to call for pricing on bundles and most retail items; a few buffalo and elk items show posted prices. The About page describes a retail area with local meats, smoked products and deli, and the business also offers catering. Halves and quarters, delivery and shipping are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Cloud's Meats Inc.

Can I bring my own animal to be processed for my freezer?
Yes, as listed. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website says processing is by appointment only, that the plant is generally booked two to three weeks out and longer in winter, and that cutting instructions should be called in within 24 hours of drop off.
What species are slaughtered here?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison slaughtered under inspection. The website adds that lambs and goats are processed by appointment, buffalo is butchered on site by appointment, and elk and wild hogs are accepted skinned and quartered.
What does deer processing cost?
The website posts 2025 deer processing prices, including $1.25 per pound for field dressed weight of 111 pounds and over, $135.00 for 90 to 110 pounds, and $125.00 for 89 pounds and under, each including skinning. Additional listed charges include caping for a head mount at $80.00, field dressing at $100.00, a $15 meat handling charge per walk-in ticket, and $10.00 per week storage after seven days from the day the customer is called. Share The Harvest carries a $40 donation charge for a whole deer, and all Share The Harvest deer must be tested.
Does Cloud's Meats ship or deliver?
Not stated in the sources. The website says all shop products are available to be purchased and picked up in store, and it does not mention shipping, delivery, or halves and quarters.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
August 16, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://cloudsmeats.com/, https://cloudsmeats.com/deer-processing/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Carthage