Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M8681EST. P8681

Dan's Country Meats

Doing business as Bavarian Smoke Haus

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in New Melle, Missouri, also known as Bavarian Smoke Haus.

3622 Mill St., New Melle, Missouri 63365 · St. Charles County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Very small plant with federal grant of inspection since March 2013
  • ·Slaughters cattle and hogs under inspection, under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Offers custom-exempt slaughter with Not for Sale packaging for the animal's owner
  • ·Reports retail-exempt sales
  • ·No website on file; hours and product details not yet documented

About Dan's Country Meats

Dan's Country Meats, doing business as Bavarian Smoke Haus, is a very small USDA-inspected establishment at 3622 Mill St. in New Melle, Missouri, in St. Charles County. It operates under establishment numbers M8681 and P8681, with a grant of inspection on file dated March 25, 2013. FSIS lists the plant for meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing.

The plant reports slaughtering cattle and hogs under federal inspection, with an FSIS slaughter volume category of 1, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

No website is on file for this establishment. Secondary listings describe it as a butcher shop and meat processor in New Melle, and a Facebook page exists under the Dan's Country Meats name, but details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, and product lists, are not yet on file. Contact numbers differ between sources: the FSIS record lists (626) 828-5266, while a business directory listing shows a (636) area code number.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows cattle and hog slaughter under inspection at a volume of fewer than 1,000 head per year, plus custom-exempt slaughter in which the customer's own animals are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Farmers who want inspected carcasses they can sell by the cut, as well as those wanting custom work for their own freezer, should find both pathways listed. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in any source on file, so contact the plant directly to confirm what it is accepting.

Dan's Country Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and secondary directory listings categorize it as a butcher shop, which suggests over the counter purchasing. However, no website, product list, bundle offering, or delivery and shipping information is on file, so households should contact the plant to confirm what is available for direct purchase.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Dan's Country Meats

What species does this plant slaughter?
It reports cattle and hogs slaughtered under federal inspection. FSIS also lists poultry processing activity, but poultry slaughter is not listed among the species slaughtered under inspection.
Can I bring my own animal for my own freezer?
Yes, as listed. The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Scheduling details and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat here?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and directory listings categorize it as a butcher shop. Specific products, prices, and hours are not stated in any source on file.
What phone number should I use?
The FSIS record lists (626) 828-5266. A separate business directory listing shows a number in the (636) area code. Both are reported; the sources do not resolve the difference.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
March 25, 2013
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near New Melle