Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2214

Sunrise Meats LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Princeton, Missouri, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.

29399 Karma Ave, Princeton, Missouri 64673 · Mercer County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA establishment M2214, listed for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class Very Small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·No website on file; directory listings also refer to the business as Sunrise Meats Butcher Shop.

About Sunrise Meats LLC

Sunrise Meats LLC operates at 29399 Karma Ave in Princeton, Missouri, in Mercer County. The plant holds USDA establishment number M2214 and is listed with FSIS for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of October 25, 2024. FSIS classifies the operation as Very Small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest federal category, under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. Secondary business directory listings refer to the operation as Sunrise Meats Butcher Shop and describe it as a custom processing plant working with beef and deer.

No website is on file for this establishment, and details beyond the federal record and those directory listings are not yet on file. Hours, pricing, scheduling practices, and available cut and wrap options have not been confirmed.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Custom butchering

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb and sheep
  • Deer processing (per secondary directory listings)

For farmers and ranchers

Sunrise Meats LLC is listed with FSIS for both slaughter and processing and reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection. That means animals can, as listed, be harvested for sale under inspection, and the plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals a customer already owns, with the resulting packages marked Not for Sale. The operation is a Very Small establishment with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking windows, lead times, minimums, hanging weight fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file, so a producer should call (660) 748-3390 to confirm current scheduling and whether the animals in question can be taken.

Sunrise Meats LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and secondary directory listings describe it as a butcher shop in Princeton. Beyond that, no source on file states retail counter hours, whether halves and quarters are sold, bundle options, delivery, shipping, or online ordering. Households should call (660) 748-3390 to ask what is available for direct purchase.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Sunrise Meats LLC

What species does Sunrise Meats LLC slaughter?
The plant reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb to FSIS as species slaughtered under inspection. Secondary directory listings also mention beef and deer processing.
Can I bring my own animal for custom processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Availability and scheduling are not stated in any source on file, so call (660) 748-3390 to confirm.
Is there a retail counter, and what are the hours?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and directory listings describe it as a butcher shop, but no hours or retail product list is on file. Hours are not stated in the sources available.
Does Sunrise Meats have a website or online ordering?
No website is on file for this establishment, and no online ordering, delivery, or shipping is described in the available sources.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
October 25, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Princeton