Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M13575EST. P13575EST. V13575

Ridgeway Freezer Inc

Doing business as Thomas Farm Quality Meats

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing of beef, pork, sheep and goats at Ridgeway, Missouri, off I-35 exit 99.

23386 W. 220th Avenue, Ridgeway, Missouri 64481 · Harrison County

thomasfarmmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Very small USDA-inspected plant with grant of inspection date on file of August 6, 2021.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, under 1,000 head per year; the website also lists goat processing.
  • ·Published per head and per pound processing fees for beef and hogs, including aging of 7 to 14 days.
  • ·Accepts whole deer and clean boneless trim, but not whole deer or elk from out of state and not deer in quarters, citing Missouri CWD regulations.
  • ·The website states the plant does not ship.

About Ridgeway Freezer Inc

Ridgeway Freezer Inc, doing business as Thomas Farm Quality Meats, is a very small USDA-inspected plant at 23386 W. 220th Avenue in Ridgeway, Harrison County, Missouri. It holds establishment numbers M13575, P13575 and V13575, with a grant of inspection date on file of August 6, 2021. FSIS activities on the federal record include meat slaughter and processing, poultry processing, and voluntary slaughter and processing of meat and poultry. The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, at a volume category of under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The establishment's website states that it offers slaughter and processing of beef, pork, sheep and goats, along with private labeling and cured meats. The site lists processing price pages for beef, hogs, lamb and goat, beef and pork, carry-in and miscellaneous work, deer, and catering. Deer work is accepted as whole deer or clean boneless trim, with the site stating that whole deer or elk from out of state are no longer accepted under Missouri Department of Conservation CWD regulations, that clean boneless trim from out of state is accepted, and that deer in quarters are not accepted. The site also states that smoked sausage products are no longer made and that fresh sausage products are made.

The plant is described on its website as located about 90 miles north of Kansas City, Missouri and about 90 miles south of Des Moines, Iowa on I-35, at the Ridgeway exit 99, on the west side of the interstate. The site directs customers to call ahead to schedule beef and hogs and states that it does not ship. A secondary business directory listing describes Thomas Farm Quality Meats as formerly known as Ridgeway Freezer and as a family-owned business; the website itself does not state ownership or a founding year.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat and poultry
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (packages marked Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Cutting and packaging in heat-sealed shrink film
  • Hand wrapping
  • Carcass cooling and aging 7 to 14 days, with longer aging available for a fee
  • Grinding, tenderizing and stew meat
  • Patty making in 4 oz, 6 oz and 8 oz
  • Curing and rendering (hogs)
  • Private labeling
  • Deer processing (whole deer and clean boneless trim)
  • Catering

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheep

Products and retail

  • Snack sticks
  • Summer sausage
  • Salami
  • Franks
  • Smoked brisket
  • Corned brisket
  • Dried beef
  • Beef jerky
  • Beef bratwurst
  • Polish sausage
  • Bratwurst
  • Smoked pork sausage
  • Fresh links
  • Ring bologna
  • Ground pork and seasoned sausage
  • Boneless ham
  • Beef patties and pork patties

Hours as listed

Regular hours 8:00am to 5:30pm Monday through Friday, closed 12:00 to 1:00pm for lunch; 8:00am to Noon Saturday; closed Sunday. Spring and summer hours, April 1st through Labor Day: Tuesday through Friday 8:00am to 5:30pm, closed 12:00 to 1:00 for lunch, closed Monday and Sunday.

For farmers and ranchers

The website lists per head slaughter fees of $130.00 for beef and $120.00 for hogs under USDA-inspected and custom slaughter, with a $30.00 per head disposal fee, $100.00 per head for beef carcasses over 1,000 lb, and $80.00 per head to split into halves. Processing is charged per pound of carcass weight and includes cooling and aging of the carcass for 7 to 14 days, with longer aging at $2.00 per half per day. Cut and package in heat-sealed shrink film is listed at $0.90 per lb, with hand wrap at $1.00 per lb, grinding and tenderize or stew meat at $0.60 per lb, patties at $1.00 per lb, pork sausage at $0.80 per lb, curing and boneless ham at $1.00 per lb, rendering at $0.80 per lb, and containers at $6.00 each. Specialty product charges vary by product. The site asks customers to call ahead to schedule beef and hogs and notes prices are subject to change without notice. Separate price pages exist for lamb and goat and for carry-in work, though their contents are not on file here. The federal record shows a very small plant slaughtering under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling lead time should be confirmed by phone.

Ridgeway Freezer Inc reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website invites households that do not raise their own beef or pork to call about farm raised meat, and the plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which allows direct sales to consumers. The site states plainly that it does not ship. It also describes private labeling and a range of cured and sausage products. Retail counter hours, specific bundles, and half or quarter beef pricing for household buyers are not stated in the sources on file, so buyers should call (660) 872-6716 to confirm what is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Ridgeway Freezer Inc

Does this plant slaughter animals under federal inspection?
Yes. The FSIS record lists meat slaughter and meat processing along with poultry processing and voluntary slaughter and processing, under establishment numbers M13575, P13575 and V13575. Reported species slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The website also advertises slaughter and processing of goats.
What does beef processing cost?
The website lists USDA-inspected and custom slaughter at $130.00 per head for beef, a $30.00 per head disposal fee, $100.00 per head for carcasses over 1,000 lb, $80.00 per head to split into halves, and cut and package at $0.90 per lb of carcass weight. Grinding, tenderizing and stew meat are $0.60 per lb and patties $1.00 per lb. Prices are stated to be subject to change without notice.
Can meat be shipped to me?
No. The website states in capital letters that it does not ship. Any pickup arrangements would need to be confirmed by phone.
Can I buy a half or quarter of beef here?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS and the website invites households that do not raise their own animals to call. However, halves, quarters, bundles and retail pricing for household buyers are not described in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry
Grant on file
August 6, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://thomasfarmmeats.com/, https://thomasfarmmeats.com/beef.html) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Ridgeway