Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M5652EST. P5652

Main Street Market

Doing business as City Meat Market

USDA-inspected grocery and meat market in Humphrey, Nebraska, with cattle and hog slaughter.

306 Main Street, Humphrey, Nebraska 68642 · Platte County

mainstreetmarkethumphrey.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA-inspected for meat processing, meat slaughter, and poultry processing under Est. M5652 and P5652.
  • ·Cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS Very Small size class, slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Grant of inspection on file dated October 14, 2014.

About Main Street Market

Main Street Market, doing business as City Meat Market, operates at 306 Main Street in Humphrey, Nebraska, in Platte County. The plant holds establishment numbers M5652 and P5652 and is listed with USDA FSIS for meat processing, meat slaughter, and poultry processing. Its grant of inspection on file dates to October 14, 2014, and FSIS classifies it in the Very Small size category.

The federal record shows cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection, with a reported slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. The listed phone number is (402) 923-1010.

The website on file, mainstreetmarkethumphrey.com, did not return readable content when fetched, and a search snippet from the site's contact page describes the business as serving the Humphrey area as a grocery. Beyond that, details such as species pricing, cut and wrap options, scheduling, hours, and ownership are not yet on file. Farmers and households should contact the establishment directly to confirm what work it takes, as listed.

Services

  • Meat processing
  • Meat slaughter
  • Poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifershogssows

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection at this establishment, along with custom-exempt slaughter, in which the customer owns the animal and the resulting packages are marked Not for Sale. FSIS also lists poultry processing activity. Reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year, and FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, hanging fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (402) 923-1010 to confirm species accepted and current scheduling.

Main Street Market reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and a search snippet from its own contact page describes it as a grocery serving the Humphrey, Nebraska area. Specific counter offerings, cuts, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Main Street Market

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle and hogs as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS also lists poultry processing activity at the establishment. Whether other species are accepted is not stated in the sources on file.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, fees, and minimums are not stated in the sources on file. Call (402) 923-1010 to confirm.
Can households buy meat here?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and a snippet from its own contact page describes it as a grocery serving the Humphrey area. Specific products, bundles, or ordering options are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not on file. A search snippet from the establishment's contact page begins to state that it is open Monday through an unspecified day, but the full text was not retrievable, so no hours are recorded here.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
October 14, 2014
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://mainstreetmarkethumphrey.com/, https://mainstreetmarkethumphrey.com/contact) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Humphrey