Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7428EST. P7428EST. V7428

Joyce Foods, Inc.

Doing business as Joyce Farms

USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and meat, poultry, and rabbit processing in Winston Salem, NC.

4787 Kinnamon Rd., Winston Salem, North Carolina 27103 · Forsyth County

joyce-farms.com

USDA inspectedBRC AA rating, per the company websiteGAP Step 4 by Global Animal Partnership, stated for the Signature Angus Heritage Beef Tenderloin

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists poultry slaughter plus meat, poultry, and rabbit processing at this establishment; poultry is the species reported slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Small plant classification with a grant of inspection date on file of July 29, 2021.
  • ·Website describes a family-owned company founded in 1962, now in its third generation.
  • ·Sells both to foodservice buyers and to households through an online store, with frozen case-pack cuts.
  • ·No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS.

About Joyce Foods, Inc.

Joyce Foods, Inc., doing business as Joyce Farms, operates a USDA-inspected establishment at 4787 Kinnamon Rd. in Winston Salem, Forsyth County, North Carolina, under establishment numbers M7428, P7428, and V7428. FSIS lists the plant for meat processing, poultry processing, and poultry slaughter, along with voluntary processing and voluntary slaughter for poultry and rabbit. Poultry is the species reported slaughtered under inspection. The establishment is classed as small, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 29, 2021, and a slaughter volume category of 4.0. No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS.

The company website presents Joyce Farms as a family-owned business founded in 1962 and now in its third generation, supplying chefs, butchers, and home cooks with poultry, beef, pork, and game raised on small farms. Products are organized into Heritage and Naked lines, both described as Nothing Added Ever, meaning no antibiotics, growth stimulants, or artificial ingredients. The site describes the facility as USDA-inspected and BRC AA certified, and blog posts reference a repeat AA BRC rating. One beef item, the Signature Angus Heritage Beef Tenderloin, is listed as GAP Step 4 certified by Global Animal Partnership and sourced from a single pasture-based farm in the Blue Ridge region.

Both a foodservice channel and a direct-to-consumer online store are described. The foodservice side includes a resource center with product sheets and marketing kits for sales representatives and resellers, plus a sales contact form. The consumer store sells frozen cases and multi-pack cuts. The website does not state whether the company accepts animals from outside farms for custom or private-label processing, and FSIS reports no custom-exempt activity, so farmers should contact the plant directly.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing
  • Meat processing
  • Voluntary poultry slaughter and processing
  • Voluntary rabbit slaughter and processing
  • Foodservice supply to chefs, butchers, and resellers
  • Direct-to-consumer online ordering

Species under inspection

chickensturkeys

Products and retail

  • Poulet Rouge heritage whole chicken and boneless skinless heritage chicken breasts
  • Naked boneless skinless chicken breasts, boneless thighs, bone-in thighs, tenders, breast medallions, ground chicken
  • Heritage Black Turkey, whole
  • Pintade (Guinea)
  • Duck
  • Rabbit
  • Signature Angus Heritage beef: whole USDA Prime tenderloin, ribeye steaks, New York strip steaks, brisket deckle-off, boneless chuck roasts, stew beef, ground beef in 1 lb packs and 20 lb bulk cases
  • Grass Fed Aberdeen Angus heritage beef outside skirt steaks and New York strip steak
  • Heritage pork breakfast sausage, pork tenderloins, boneless pork sirloin, cured bone-in ham

Hours as listed

Business hours listed on the site: Monday to Friday, 9 AM to 6 PM. These are stated as company business hours, not retail counter hours.

For households

The Joyce Farms website operates an online store for home buyers, with items sold frozen and generally by the case or multi-pack, for example chicken in cases of eight 1 lb packs, ribeye or New York strip steaks in cases of four, and ground beef in cases of eight 1 lb packs or a 20 lb bulk case. Listed prices at the time of fetch ranged from about $44.99 for several chicken and beef items to $159.99 for a whole USDA Prime Signature Angus tenderloin and $499.99 for a cured bone-in heritage ham. Products are grouped into Heritage and Naked lines, both described as Nothing Added Ever. The site does not state retail counter hours, halves or quarters sales, or shipping terms, and stock status varies by item.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Joyce Foods, Inc.

Does this plant do custom processing for farmers?
Not stated. FSIS reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and the website does not describe taking in animals from outside farms. Contact the plant at (336) 766-9900 to ask.
What species are slaughtered here?
Poultry is the species reported slaughtered under inspection. FSIS also lists voluntary slaughter and processing for rabbit, and voluntary poultry slaughter and processing.
Can households buy directly?
The company website runs an online store with chicken, beef, pork, turkey, duck, rabbit, and guinea items sold frozen in cases and multi-packs. Shipping terms and any on-site retail counter are not stated in the sources on file.
What certifications apply?
The establishment is USDA-inspected. The website states the facility holds a BRC AA rating, and the Signature Angus Heritage Beef Tenderloin listing states GAP Step 4 certification by Global Animal Partnership. Organic, halal, and kosher status are not stated.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Processing - Rabbit; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
Grant on file
July 29, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://joyce-farms.com/, https://joyce-farms.com/pages/foodservice-resource-center) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Winston Salem