Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M27486AEST. P27486AEST. V27486A

Curly's Custom Meats

USDA-inspected butcher shop and custom processor in Jackson Center, Ohio, handling beef, hogs, lamb and goats.

610 West Pike St, Jackson Center, Ohio 45334 · Shelby County

curlysmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter, packages marked Not for SaleRetail-exempt sales

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Offers both custom-exempt processing labeled Not for Sale and USDA-legend processing for producers who plan to sell, with advance phone notice required for the USDA option.
  • ·Hog processing fees posted on the order form: $1.10 per pound processing, $20 per half kill charge with disposal, $60 per hog kill charge with no processing.
  • ·Retail counter with in-house cutting and grinding, vacuum-sealed packaging, and five priced sampler packages from $79 to $425.
  • ·Also processes deboned deer, per the website.

About Curly's Custom Meats

Curly's Custom Meats operates at 610 West Pike St in Jackson Center, Shelby County, Ohio, under FSIS establishment numbers M27486A, P27486A and V27486A. The federal record lists food inspection, meat slaughter and processing, poultry processing, and voluntary slaughter and processing of meat, poultry and rabbit, with a grant of inspection date on file of March 22, 2024. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats. The plant is classed as small, with a slaughter volume category of 2.0, and reports both custom-exempt slaughter, where packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The website describes the business as a butcher shop and meat market that has served Jackson Center and surrounding counties since 1961, family-owned and operated. It offers custom processing of hogs, beef, goat and lamb, plus processing of deboned deer, and states that customers receive meat solely from the animal they bring in. Packages are vacuum-sealed, described as lasting up to two years frozen. The site also lists a smokehouse and beef jerky in original, teriyaki, sweet jalapeno and black peppered flavors, described on the site as award-winning.

Retail offerings named on the site include beef steaks and roasts, ground beef and patties, brisket, pork chops, ribs, bacon, hams, a long list of bratwurst flavors, sausage, bologna, wieners, summer sausage, snack sticks, marinated and stuffed chicken breasts, wings and chicken halves, along with grocery and deli sections. Priced sampler packages are listed: Beef Sampler at $425, Steak Sampler at $339, Camper Sampler at $159, Pork Sampler at $149 and Sausage Sampler at $79. The site notes pricing is subject to change without notice.

Services

  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals
  • USDA-inspected slaughter and processing
  • Beef, hog, lamb and goat custom processing
  • Deer processing (deboned only)
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary processing and slaughter of meat, poultry and rabbit
  • Smokehouse products and curing
  • Vacuum-sealed cut and wrap
  • Online custom order forms for hog and beef processing
  • Retail meat counter, grocery and deli

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowslambsgoats

Products and retail

  • Beef steaks including filet mignon, ribeye, T-bone, strip, sirloin, skirt, flank, cube steak
  • Chuck, arm, English, rib, rump, sirloin and round roasts
  • Brisket, short ribs, shank meat, beef stew
  • Bulk ground beef, hamburger patties, flavored and pizza patties
  • Beef jerky in original, teriyaki, sweet jalapeno and black peppered
  • Beef snack sticks
  • Summer sausage in original, cheese, jalapeno and hot cheese
  • Pork chops, marinated chops, smoked loin chops, pork loin, tenderloin
  • Baby back, spare and country style ribs
  • Bacon, peppered bacon, jowl bacon, Canadian bacon, fresh side
  • Fresh and smoked ham, ham steaks, ham hocks
  • Bratwurst in many flavors including cheese, green onion, mac n cheese, pineapple teriyaki, Philly cheese steak, mango habanero
  • Smoked sausage, chorizo, Italian sausage, sausage patties, breakfast links, bulk sausage
  • Bologna and wieners
  • Marinated and stuffed chicken breasts, chicken wings, thighs, halves
  • Beef, Steak, Pork, Sausage and Camper sampler packages

Hours as listed

Custom Meat Processing Pick-Up Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am to 5:00pm. Retail Hours: Monday-Friday, 9:00am to 5:00pm; Saturday, 9:00am to Noon.

For farmers and ranchers

The site describes Curly's as both a custom processing and USDA processing facility for hogs, beef, goats and lambs, and states that the animal a customer brings in is processed into the meat that customer receives. Hog and beef orders can be placed through online order forms, with a printable option to bring to the store. Goat and lamb orders are placed by phone. The hog order form states a processing fee of $1.10 per pound, a kill charge with disposal fee of $20 per half, a kill charge of $60 per hog if no processing is done, a storage charge of $0.50 per box per day after three days, standard packaging of four per pack, a small package charge of $24 per hog, and a standard cut thickness of five eighths inch unless otherwise noted, with pricing subject to change. Producers who want product labeled with the USDA legend for resale must call the office before delivering the animal and pay an additional charge; custom processing labeled Not for Sale carries no additional charge. Custom processing pick-up hours are listed as Monday through Friday, 9:00am to 5:00pm. The site also says deboned deer is processed. Scheduling lead times and booking windows are not stated in the sources.

Curly's Custom Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Curly's operates a retail meat market at 610 W Pike St with retail hours listed as Monday through Friday, 9:00am to 5:00pm and Saturday, 9:00am to Noon. The site says meat is cut and ground fresh in-house, new items are stocked daily, and packages are vacuum-sealed to last up to two years frozen. Sampler packages are offered at listed prices: Beef Sampler $425, Steak Sampler $339, Camper Sampler $159, Pork Sampler $149 and Sausage Sampler $79, with the site directing buyers to contact Curly's or stop by the store to purchase. Halves and quarters of finished beef for retail sale, delivery and shipping are not described in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Curly's Custom Meats

What animals can be brought here for custom processing?
The website lists hogs, beef, goats and lambs, plus deer that has been deboned. FSIS records show slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection, along with voluntary poultry and rabbit slaughter and processing.
Can meat processed here be resold?
Yes, if it is processed under the USDA legend. The site says customers must call the office before delivering the animal to select the USDA option, which carries an additional charge. Custom processing is labeled Not for Sale and is intended for the owner's own use.
What does hog processing cost?
The posted hog order form lists $1.10 per pound processing, a $20 per half kill and disposal charge, $60 per hog if no processing is done, $0.50 per box per day storage after three days, and a $24 per hog small package charge. The site notes pricing is subject to change. Beef, lamb and goat pricing is not stated in the material on file.
Is the shop taking new processing appointments?
Booking availability, lead times and minimums are not stated in the sources. Hours and contact information are listed as shown; the phone number on file is (937) 596-6518.

Federal record

Activities
Food Inspection; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Poultry; Voluntary Processing - Rabbit; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Poultry; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
Grant on file
March 22, 2024
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.curlysmeats.com/, https://www.curlysmeats.com/contact-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Jackson Center