Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M15826EST. P15826EST. V15826

Keystone Meats Inc.

Very small USDA-inspected beef slaughter and canning plant in Lima, Ohio, selling all natural canned meats.

3585 Harding HWY, Lima, Ohio 45804 · Allen County

keystonemeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptVoluntary poultry processing under FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS very small establishment; cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection, at under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Website sells fully cooked canned beef, canned ground beef and canned pork in 28 oz and 14.5 oz cans, stated as meat and sea salt only.
  • ·Described on its website as a fourth-generation Dorley family business in Lima, Ohio, with over 60 years of production.
  • ·Online ordering available; site notes up to five days to process an order.

About Keystone Meats Inc.

Keystone Meats Inc. operates at 3585 Harding HWY in Lima, Ohio, in Allen County, under establishment numbers M15826, P15826 and V15826. The federal record lists the plant for meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing and voluntary poultry processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of August 24, 2021. FSIS classifies the plant as very small. Cattle are the only species reported slaughtered under inspection, and the reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website presents Keystone Meats as a producer of all natural canned meats. It describes the business as a family operation in its fourth generation, run by the Dorley family, with more than 60 years of production. According to the About page, the business began in Lima when lifelong beef cattle farmer Raymond L. Dorley and his son Raymond B. Dorley, returning from World War II, opened a meat packing company called The Pride of Lima and sold meats and provisions under the brand Lima Keystone Products, processing cattle raised on the family farm. A later generation, Dave Dorley, is described as taking over as owner and operator.

Product pages describe fully cooked canned beef, canned ground beef and canned pork in 28 ounce and 14.5 ounce cans, stated to contain only meat and sea salt, with no preservatives and no added water. Orders are placed through an online store, and the site notes that high demand may mean up to five days to process an order. The federal record shows poultry activities that the fetched website pages do not describe in product terms. Details on custom cut and wrap, retail counter hours, pricing and booking are not on file.

]

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary poultry processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Canning of fully cooked meats
  • Online ordering

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cows

Products and retail

  • Canned beef, 28 oz and 14.5 oz
  • Canned ground beef
  • Canned pork
  • All natural canned meats containing meat and sea salt only

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows Keystone Meats Inc. as a meat slaughter and processing establishment that slaughters cattle under inspection, with a reported volume category of under 1,000 head per year, and that it reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale. Poultry processing and voluntary poultry processing are also listed as FSIS activities. Beyond those federal entries, the website on file focuses on the company's canned meat line and does not state custom booking procedures, lead times, minimums, hanging weight or kill fees, cut and wrap options, or drop-off scheduling. Farmers should contact the plant at (419) 225-9600 to confirm whether custom work is being scheduled, as listed.

Keystone Meats Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Households can order Keystone canned meats through the company's online store at keystonemeats.com, which lists fully cooked canned beef, canned ground beef and canned pork in 28 ounce and 14.5 ounce cans, described as containing only meat and sea salt with no preservatives or added water. The site notes that high demand may mean up to five days to process an order. The federal record shows the plant reports retail-exempt sales. Shipping terms, prices, retail counter hours, and any sale of fresh cuts, halves or quarters are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Keystone Meats Inc.

Does Keystone Meats process animals for farmers?
The federal record reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale. Booking procedures, fees, minimums and cut and wrap options are not stated in the sources on file. Contact (419) 225-9600 to confirm, as listed.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS lists cattle as the only species slaughtered under inspection. The establishment also holds poultry processing and voluntary poultry processing activities in the federal record.
What can a household buy?
The website lists fully cooked canned beef, canned ground beef and canned pork in 28 ounce and 14.5 ounce cans, sold through an online store. Prices, shipping terms and any retail counter for fresh cuts are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the plant federally inspected?
Yes. It appears in the USDA FSIS directory under establishment numbers M15826, P15826 and V15826, with a grant of inspection date on file of August 24, 2021, and an FSIS size class of very small.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Poultry
Grant on file
August 24, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.keystonemeats.com/, https://www.keystonemeats.com/pages/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Lima