Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M40342EST. P40342

The Ohio State University

USDA-inspected very small slaughter and processing plant on The Ohio State University campus in Columbus.

2029 Fyffe Road, Columbus, Ohio 43210 · Franklin County

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both meat and poultry slaughter and processing, establishment numbers M40342 and P40342.
  • ·Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS: cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and poultry.
  • ·FSIS size class very small, with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is October 14, 2021.
  • ·No custom-exempt activity reported; retail-exempt sales are reported.

About The Ohio State University

The Ohio State University holds federal grant of inspection under establishment numbers M40342 and P40342 at 2029 Fyffe Road in Columbus, Franklin County, Ohio. The federal record lists four inspected activities: meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, and poultry processing. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is October 14, 2021.

Species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and poultry. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales and does not report any custom-exempt activity, which means the federal record shows no custom slaughter or processing for owners of animals. The listed phone number is (614) 292-9217.

No website is on file for this establishment and no establishment-specific web text was available. Search results returned general information about the university campus rather than the meat plant. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, product lists, and whether retail sales are open to the public, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection

Species under inspection

steersheifershogslambschickensturkeys

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows inspected slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and poultry at this location, with a reported volume of under 1,000 head per year and a very small FSIS size class. No custom-exempt activity is reported, so the federal record does not indicate custom slaughter or cut and wrap for an animal owner's own use. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, fees, and cut and wrap options are not stated in any source on file. A producer would need to contact the establishment directly at (614) 292-9217 to learn whether outside animals are accepted.

The Ohio State University operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates some level of direct retail activity, but no source on file describes a retail counter, hours, product selection, bundles, halves or quarters, online ordering, delivery, or shipping. Households interested in buying would need to contact the establishment directly to confirm what, if anything, is available for sale.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about The Ohio State University

Does this plant do custom processing for farmers?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and no source on file describes custom slaughter or cut and wrap services. Producers should call (614) 292-9217 to ask directly.
What animals can be slaughtered here?
Species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and poultry.
Can I buy meat directly from this establishment?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, but no retail hours, product list, or ordering information is stated in any source on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. No website is on file for this establishment.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
October 14, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Columbus