Federally inspected establishment
EST. M9264EST. P9264EST. V9264Malco's Buxton Meat Co
Family owned USDA-inspected slaughter and cut plant in Sandy, Oregon, with a butcher store.
37101 SE Dunn Road, Sandy, Oregon 97055 · Clackamas County
At a glance
- ·Federal record lists both slaughter and processing for cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, plus voluntary inspection activities.
- ·Cut sheets let customers choose USDA (for sale) or Custom (Not For Sale) on the same form.
- ·Stated turnaround of 2 to 5 weeks, with pickup required within 7 days of notice and a $100 late fee thereafter.
- ·Sausage and pepperoni selections require a 75 pound minimum of trim each; bacon and smoked hocks require four or more hogs smoked together.
- ·Very small plant per FSIS, in the under 1,000 head per year slaughter category.
About Malco's Buxton Meat Co
Malco's Buxton Meat Co operates at 37101 SE Dunn Road in Sandy, Clackamas County, Oregon, under FSIS establishment numbers M9264, P9264 and V9264. The federal record lists meat processing, meat slaughter, and voluntary meat processing and slaughter activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of May 6, 2022. FSIS classifies the plant as very small and places its slaughter volume in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.
The business describes itself on its website as a family owned butcher shop in Sandy and as one of a limited number of USDA approved processing facilities serving Oregon and southwest Washington. The site lists a main office and butcher and processing line at (503) 668-4838, the number also on the federal record, and a separate butcher store line at (971) 333-1780. Cut sheet forms are published for pork, beef, lamb, goat, and wild game, and each form asks the customer to select either USDA (for sale) or Custom (Not For Sale, only if the customer owns the animal), which matches the dual inspected and custom-exempt activity reported to FSIS.
Beyond what appears on the plant's own pages and in the federal record, details such as founding year, ownership names, and current scheduling availability are not on file.
Services
- USDA-inspected meat slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
- Retail-exempt sales
- Cut and wrap to customer instructions
- Sausage making, fresh and smoked
- Bacon and smoked hock curing and smoking
- Meat sticks and summer sausage
- Wild game processing for hunters
- Whole animal sales
- Dry aging (described on the site)
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Grass fed beef from local farmers
- Asian water buffalo
- Full line of pork
- Fresh ground country and European sausage
- Beef steaks including tenderloin, T-bone, rib, top sirloin, sirloin tip, skirt, flank, round
- Beef roasts including chuck, pot, sirloin tip, tri tip, rump
- Brisket, short ribs, stew meat
- Ground beef 90/10 and 80/20, ground beef patties
- Pork chops, pork steak, country style ribs, arm roast, fresh ham roast
- Smoked or fresh bacon and belly, fresh or smoked hocks
- Bulk sausage: breakfast, sweet Italian, hot Italian, bratwurst
- Link sausage fresh or smoked: breakfast, sweet and hot Italian, bratwurst, beer bratwurst, chorizo, jalapeno cheese franks, garlic, North Country
- Smoked summer sausage chubs
- Mild, spicy, and teriyaki meat sticks (pepperoni)
- Lamb chops, rack of lamb, leg of lamb, shoulder roast, shanks, neck chops, lamb burger, kabob and stew meat
- Offal and extras: heart, liver, oxtail, tongue, trotters, leaf lard, back fat, bones
- Wild game summer sausage, pepperoni sticks, franks, and burger
- Meat boxes (posted on the plant's Facebook page)
Hours as listed
Pick up times Mon-Fri 8-3, Sat 8-1. The site asks customers to call if other arrangements are needed. Butcher store hours are not stated.
For farmers and ranchers
The plant runs both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt work, and its cut sheets require the customer to mark USDA (for sale) or Custom (Not For Sale, allowed only if the customer owns the animal), along with a label code number, lot number, and for beef an ear tag number. Cutting instruction forms are posted for pork, beef, lamb, goat, and wild game, and the site states the cut sheets and their pricing information are intended for farmer processing customers rather than consumers. Lot number and hanging weight are provided by email at 1Malco79@gmail.com. Stated minimums include 75 pounds of trim for each sausage or pepperoni selection, a 100 pound minimum for ground beef patties at $1.35 per pound, and for pork, four or more hogs processed and smoked together for smoked items such as bacon and smoked hocks, with smoked orders combined and hanging weights of about 180 to 350 pounds required for bacon. Smoked ham is no longer offered, and the site states no special requests or custom cuts are being taken at this time, with any declined option going to ground. Standard turnaround is stated as 2 to 5 weeks. Appointments are made by phone at (503) 668-4838. FSIS lists cattle, hog, and sheep and lamb slaughter; goat appears on the cut sheet list but is not among the species reported slaughtered to FSIS. Slaughter volume is in the under 1,000 head per year category, as listed.
Malco's Buxton Meat Co reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The website describes a butcher shop at the Sandy location offering grass fed beef from local farmers, Asian water buffalo, fresh ground country and European sausage, and a full line of pork, and says whole animals are available by calling or stopping by to place an order. Beef orders can be taken as whole beef or half beef on the cut sheet. Butcher store questions go to (971) 333-1780. Completed processing orders must be picked up within 7 days of notice, with a stated late fee of $100 per order every 5 business days after that and orders subject to donation after 45 days. All orders are boxed, checks are not accepted, and cash, debit, or credit is taken with 4 percent added to credit card amounts. Delivery, shipping, and online retail ordering are not mentioned in the sources.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Malco's Buxton Meat Co
Can I have my own animal slaughtered and returned to me?
What species does the plant slaughter?
How long does processing take and how do I pay?
Can I buy meat directly as a household?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
- Grant on file
- May 6, 2022
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://malcosbuxtonmeats.com/, https://malcosbuxtonmeats.com/processing/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Sandy
- Newport Meat Pacific Northwest14 mi
Portland · species not reported
- Marks Meat Inc.22 mi
Canby · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Mt. Angel Meat Co.34 mi
Mount Angel · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Carlton Packing Company46 mi
Carlton · Hogs · custom-exempt
- Clark Meat Science Laboratory77 mi
Corvallis · Cattle · custom-exempt
- Oregon Beef Co.80 mi
Madras · species not reported · custom-exempt