Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M9289EST. P9289

Oregon Beef Co.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Madras, Oregon, with wholesale distribution and a retail meat room.

1762 S. Adams Drive P.O. Box X, Madras, Oregon 97741 · Jefferson County

oregonbeefco.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing under M9289+P9289.
  • ·Very Small size class in the FSIS directory; grant of inspection date on file 2021-07-23.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter, so customer-owned animals can be processed with Not for Sale labeling.
  • ·Website describes wholesale and HRI distribution across Bend, Redmond, Madras, Prineville, Sisters, La Pine, Sunriver and Warm Springs.
  • ·Retail display room added in 2023, per the website.

About Oregon Beef Co.

Oregon Beef Co. operates at 1762 S. Adams Drive in Madras, Jefferson County, Oregon, under USDA establishment numbers M9289 and P9289. The plant reports both Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities to FSIS and is listed in the federal directory as Very Small size class, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 23, 2021. Species detail is not reported to FSIS. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes the business as founded in 1979 by James Wyzard JR as a full service USDA custom, processing and wholesale distributing meat plant. Tom Jones joined in 1983 and is described as current plant manager. Stann Dmytryk joined in 1987 and, as a member of HDD Incorporated, purchased Oregon Beef Company from Wyzard in March 1993. The website states the business expanded to become Central Oregon's largest HRI (Hotel, Restaurant and Institutions) distributor and grew its retail meat sales as well. The 1979 founding date on the website and the 2021 grant of inspection date in the federal record are different pieces of information; the federal date reflects the grant currently on file with FSIS.

According to the website, Oregon Beef Company distributes beef, pork, poultry, cheese, potato products, fish and oils, serving Bend, Redmond, Madras, Prineville, Sisters, La Pine, Sunriver and Warm Springs. A new retail display room was added in 2023. Hours, pricing, booking procedures, and cut and wrap details are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter (as reported to FSIS)
  • Meat processing (as reported to FSIS)
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Wholesale distribution
  • Hotel, restaurant and institutional (HRI) supply
  • Retail meat sales from an on-site display room
  • Order delivery (as described on the website)

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Poultry
  • Cheese
  • Potato products
  • Fish
  • Oils

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows Oregon Beef Co. reports both slaughter and processing activities and offers custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals remain the property of the customer and the resulting packages are marked Not for Sale. Species handled are not reported to FSIS, and the sources on file do not state booking lead times, scheduling windows, minimums, kill day schedules, hanging fees, cut and wrap charges, or whether the plant offers dry aging, curing, or smoking. Farmers should contact the plant at (541) 475-2288 to confirm what species and services are available as listed.

Oregon Beef Co. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website states that the retail side of the business has grown and that a new retail display room was added in 2023. Oregon Beef Company describes itself as a distributor of beef, pork, poultry, cheese, potato products, fish and oils serving Bend, Redmond, Madras, Prineville, Sisters, La Pine, Sunriver and Warm Springs, and says orders are delivered promptly. The establishment also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Specific retail items, bundles, halves and quarters, online ordering, and shipping are not described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Oregon Beef Co.

Does Oregon Beef Co. slaughter animals or only cut and wrap?
The federal record lists both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals. Which species are handled is not reported to FSIS.
Can a household buy meat directly from the plant?
The website states the retail portion of the business has grown and that a retail display room was added in 2023, and the establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Specific retail products, bundles, and prices are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (541) 475-2288.
Why does the website say 1979 while the federal record shows 2021?
The website describes a founding in 1979 and a change of ownership in 1993. The FSIS directory lists a grant of inspection date on file of July 23, 2021, which reflects the current federal grant rather than the company's stated founding year.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 23, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very Small establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.oregonbeefco.com/, https://oregonbeefco.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Madras