Federally inspected establishment
EST. M27493EST. P27493EST. V27493Central Oregon Butcher Boys
Doing business as Oregon Canard Farms
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Prineville, Oregon, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.
2525 NW Ritches Lane, Prineville, Oregon 97754 · Crook County
At a glance
- ·Grant of inspection on file since April 28, 2022.
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, as listed.
- ·Poultry slaughter and poultry processing are among its listed FSIS activities.
- ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
- ·FSIS size class Very Small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
About Central Oregon Butcher Boys
Central Oregon Butcher Boys, doing business as Oregon Canard Farms, operates at 2525 NW Ritches Lane in Prineville, Crook County, Oregon. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M27493, P27493, and V27493, with a grant of inspection on file dated April 28, 2022. FSIS lists it under meat processing, meat slaughter, poultry processing, poultry slaughter, and voluntary meat processing and slaughter activities.
The establishment is classified by FSIS as Very Small. It reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.
No establishment website text is available for this record. The address listed on file, prineville.org, is a community site rather than a plant-operated page, and secondary directory listings describe the location only as a slaughterhouse offering livestock and poultry processing. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, product lists, and ownership, are not yet on file.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Meat slaughter under federal inspection
- Meat processing
- Poultry slaughter
- Poultry processing
- Voluntary slaughter and processing, meat
- Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The plant reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals brought in may be handled either for resale under inspection or as customer-owned work returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and poultry slaughter and processing are also listed among its FSIS activities. Volume is small, under 1,000 head per year, which suggests limited capacity, though booking windows, minimums, drop-off procedures, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in any source on file. Farmers should contact the plant at (541) 447-0334 to confirm current scheduling.
Central Oregon Butcher Boys reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which generally allows direct sales to household customers, but no source on file describes a retail counter, half or quarter beef sales, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online ordering. Households interested in buying should call (541) 447-0334 to ask what is available.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Central Oregon Butcher Boys
What species can this plant slaughter?
Can I have my own animal processed and keep the meat?
Does it sell meat directly to the public?
What are the hours and how do I book?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
- Grant on file
- April 28, 2022
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Prineville
- Oregon Beef Co.24 mi
Madras · species not reported · custom-exempt
- Neiffer Ranch Poultry LLC96 mi
Lexington · species not reported
- Bright Oak Meats, Inc.102 mi
Springfield · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Bison, Elk, deer, yak · custom-exempt
- Kalapooia Valley Grassfed Processing103 mi
Brownsville · Cattle, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Malco's Buxton Meat Co103 mi
Sandy · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Marks Meat Inc.108 mi
Canby · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt