Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M8630EST. P8630EST. V8630

Benner's Butcher Shoppe, LLC

Doing business as Benner's Beef Farm

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail butcher counter in Thompsontown, Juniata County.

56 Platt Hollow Road, Thompsontown, Pennsylvania 17094 · Juniata County

benners-butcher-shoppe.lucky-three-seven.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptVoluntary inspection activities for meat (V8630)

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for meat slaughter, meat processing and poultry processing, grant date October 27, 2021.
  • ·Reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, under 1,000 head per year, classed by FSIS as very small.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales at the same location.
  • ·Website describes an on-site retail counter with cuts made to order plus smoked and cured specialties.
  • ·No pricing, booking terms, or shipping options are stated in the sources.

About Benner's Butcher Shoppe, LLC

Benner's Butcher Shoppe, LLC, doing business as Benner's Beef Farm, operates at 56 Platt Hollow Road in Thompsontown, Pennsylvania, in Juniata County. The plant holds establishment numbers M8630, P8630 and V8630 and is listed with USDA FSIS for meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, voluntary meat processing and voluntary meat slaughter. Its grant of inspection on file dates to October 27, 2021. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and it reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb under inspection, with an annual slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head.

The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. That combination means the same address serves both farmers hauling in their own livestock and households buying over the counter.

The website on file describes a retail butcher shop selling beef, pork and chicken along with specialty items, and states that meats are cut and prepared to order. It describes the business as locally owned and operated and says the vision is to remain a family-owned business. The website does not state a founding year, custom slaughter booking procedures, pricing, or hanging weight terms. Details beyond the federal record and this website text are not yet on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and voluntary meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packages marked Not for Sale
  • Retail meat counter (retail-exempt sales)
  • Custom cuts to customer preference
  • Smoking and cured meat products
  • Meat packages and seasonal holiday gift trays

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef, including Delmonico steaks, prime rib, marinated steaks, shaved ribeye and tomahawk steaks when available
  • Pork, including hickory smoked bacon and smoked ham steaks
  • Chicken, including stuffed chicken breasts and Mediterranean-seasoned chicken breasts
  • Gourmet sausages, including sweet Italian links and jalapeno sausage
  • Beef sticks and ham sticks in multiple flavors
  • Bologna, including hot bologna
  • Smoked salmon
  • Specialty and smoked cheeses
  • Homemade dips and spreads, plus pasta, macaroni and seafood salads

Hours as listed

A question and answer posted on the website page states the business is closed Sunday and Monday, opens at 8 o'clock Tuesday through Saturday, and is open until noon on Saturday. No hours are posted directly by the business in the sources.

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment is listed with FSIS for meat slaughter and processing and reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb under inspection, at a volume of under 1,000 head per year. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by the customer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. Neither the federal record nor the website states booking lead times, drop-off days, minimums, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, hanging weight pricing, or whether inspected animals can be sold by the cut. Farmers should call (717) 535-5313 to confirm scheduling and terms. Nothing in the sources indicates whether the plant is currently accepting new custom work.

Benner's Butcher Shoppe, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, and the website describes a retail butcher counter with beef, pork and chicken cut and prepared to order, plus specialty items such as beef sticks, sausages, bacon, bologna, smoked salmon, cheeses and dips. Meat packages and seasonal holiday gift trays are described as available. The website states that credit and debit cards, mobile payments and cash are accepted. Halves and quarters, bundle programs, online ordering and delivery are not described in the sources. On shipping, a question posted on the website page asks whether the shop ships out of state, and the answer given by another visitor is that it likely does not; this is not confirmed by the business.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Benner's Butcher Shoppe, LLC

Can I bring my own steer, hog or lamb here for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it is listed for meat slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums and fees are not stated in the sources. Call (717) 535-5313 to confirm.
Is there a retail counter I can buy from?
Yes as listed. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and the website describes a retail butcher shop with displayed cuts of beef, pork and chicken plus specialty items such as beef sticks, sausages, bacon, cheeses and dips.
What are the hours?
A question and answer on the website page states the shop is closed Sunday and Monday, opens at 8 o'clock Tuesday through Saturday, and closes at noon on Saturday. The business does not post hours directly in the sources, so hours should be confirmed by phone.
Do they ship or deliver?
Not established. A visitor question on the website page asks about out of state shipping and the reply given is that it likely does not ship. No shipping or delivery service is described by the business in the sources.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 27, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://benners-butcher-shoppe.lucky-three-seven.com/, https://benners-butcher-shoppe.lucky-three-seven.com/about) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Thompsontown