Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M44910EST. P44910EST. V44910

Rising Spring Meat Co.

Doing business as Rising Spring Meat Company

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Spring Mills, Centre County, Pennsylvania.

119 Cooper Street, Spring Mills, Pennsylvania 16875 · Centre County

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptKosher

At a glance

  • ·Grant of inspection on file since October 27, 2021.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection; also listed for poultry slaughter and processing.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and kosher slaughter to FSIS.
  • ·Very Small size class, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year.
  • ·No website on file; details beyond the federal record are not yet available.

About Rising Spring Meat Co.

Rising Spring Meat Co., doing business as Rising Spring Meat Company, operates at 119 Cooper Street in Spring Mills, Pennsylvania, in Centre County. The plant holds establishment numbers M44910, P44910 and V44910, with a grant of inspection on file with USDA FSIS dated October 27, 2021. FSIS lists it under both meat and poultry activities, covering meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, poultry processing, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing.

The establishment is classed by FSIS as Very Small. It reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, and its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports kosher slaughter.

No website is on file for this establishment, and no website text was available. Secondary listings describe it as a slaughterhouse and butcher shop in Spring Mills, but details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, retail offerings and ownership, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry slaughter
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animal owners
  • Kosher slaughter

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssheeplambsostrich

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

FSIS records show cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, along with poultry slaughter and processing activities, so a producer hauling any of those species would be within the listed scope as of the federal record. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it can process animals a customer already owns, with the resulting packages marked Not for Sale. Volume is small, under 1,000 head per year in the FSIS category, which suggests limited capacity. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill day schedules, cut and wrap options and fees are not stated in any source on file, so producers should contact the plant at (814) 422-8810 to confirm what work it takes.

Rising Spring Meat Co. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

Questions about Rising Spring Meat Co.

Which species can this plant handle?
The plant reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, and FSIS also lists poultry slaughter and poultry processing activities.
Does it do custom processing for farmers?
Yes, as listed. FSIS records show the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale.
Is kosher slaughter available?
The establishment reports kosher slaughter to FSIS. Specific certifying authority, scheduling and species covered are not stated in the sources on file.
Are there retail hours or a storefront?
Secondary listings describe the business as a slaughterhouse and butcher shop, but no hours, retail product list, or ordering information is on file. Contact (814) 422-8810 to confirm.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
October 27, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Spring Mills