Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M9844EST. P9844

Penn State Meat Lab

University-run USDA-inspected slaughter and processing lab at Penn State, with a Friday retail sale.

15 Meat Lab, University Park, Pennsylvania 16802 · Centre County

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing at this establishment.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Slaughter volume falls in the lowest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year; size class is very small.
  • ·No custom-exempt activity is reported; retail-exempt sales are reported.
  • ·University pages describe a Friday retail sale during the spring and fall semesters.

About Penn State Meat Lab

Penn State Meat Lab operates under USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment number M9844+P9844 at 15 Meat Lab, University Park, Pennsylvania, in Centre County. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, and poultry processing activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of November 1, 2017. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small and places its slaughter volume in the lowest reported category, under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales and reports no custom-exempt activity, meaning the federal record does not show custom slaughter or processing for individual livestock owners at this location. Department pages describe the facility as a teaching and research meat laboratory with 16,000 square feet of total space, 1,200 square feet of refrigerated space, a 200-person classroom, and a 40-person classroom.

Penn State's Department of Animal Science describes a Friday sale held in the lab's retail store during the spring and fall semesters. No dedicated commercial website for the establishment is on file, and details beyond the federal record and these university facility pages, including pricing, booking practices, and cut and wrap options, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Teaching and research meat laboratory

Species under inspection

steersheifershogslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

Hours as listed

A retail sale is described as held every Friday during the spring and fall semesters. General operating hours are not stated.

For households

The Department of Animal Science states that the Meat Laboratory holds a sale in its retail store every Friday during the spring and fall semesters. The establishment also reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Specific products, bundle options, halves or quarters, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Penn State Meat Lab

Does Penn State Meat Lab do custom processing for farmers?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and no booking, minimum, or cut and wrap information appears in the sources on file. Farmers would need to contact the lab directly at (814) 865-1787 to ask what work, if any, it takes in.
What animals are slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported to FSIS as species slaughtered under inspection. Poultry processing is also listed among FSIS activities.
Can the public buy meat from the Meat Lab?
University pages state that the Meat Laboratory holds a sale in its retail store every Friday during the spring and fall semesters, and the establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Specific products and prices are not stated.
Is the plant currently open and accepting work?
Not stated. The profile reflects the federal record as listed and university facility pages; current availability should be confirmed with the establishment.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing
Grant on file
November 1, 2017
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near University Park