Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M45570

Eader's Butcher Shop

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail counter in Big Cove Tannery, Fulton County, Pennsylvania.

5616 Timber Ridge Road, Big Cove Tannery, Pennsylvania 17212 · Fulton County

eadersbutchershop.wixsite.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA-inspected for both slaughter and processing under establishment number M45570.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter available for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Very small plant with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Retail counter described on the shop's own site; retail-exempt sales reported to FSIS.

About Eader's Butcher Shop

Eader's Butcher Shop operates at 5616 Timber Ridge Road in Big Cove Tannery, Pennsylvania, under USDA establishment number M45570. The Food Safety and Inspection Service lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection on file dated August 5, 2021. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small and places its slaughter volume in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and returns the meat in packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. The shop's own site describes custom slaughtering of beef, pork, and poultry and a full-service shop with a retail counter; poultry is not among the species listed in the federal slaughter record reviewed here.

Full website text was not available for this record, so descriptions of the business come from short search snippets referencing the shop's Wix site and a social media page. Those sources mention fresh meat and meat products, grass-fed beef pricing, and made-to-order meat and cheese trays quoted by phone. Details beyond the federal record and these snippets are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animal owners
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail counter
  • Meat and cheese trays made to order

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef, including grass-fed beef
  • Pork
  • Lamb and sheep
  • Poultry (described on the shop's site as custom slaughtered)
  • Fresh meat and meat products
  • Meat and cheese trays

For farmers and ranchers

FSIS lists Eader's Butcher Shop for meat slaughter and meat processing of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter for animals owned by the customer, with the returned packages marked Not for Sale. The shop's own site describes custom slaughtering of beef, pork, and poultry. Slaughter volume falls in the lowest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year, so scheduling capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Call (717) 294-3954 to confirm current availability and terms.

Eader's Butcher Shop reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The shop's site describes a full-service shop with a retail counter and offers fresh meat and meat products, and a pricing page references grass-fed beef. A social media post mentions meat and cheese trays made to order, with pricing quoted by phone at (717) 294-3954. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Whether halves, quarters, bundles, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are available is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Eader's Butcher Shop

What animals does Eader's Butcher Shop slaughter?
The species reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The shop's own site also mentions custom slaughtering of poultry, which does not appear in the federal slaughter record reviewed here.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Booking steps, lead times, and fees are not stated in the sources on file. Call (717) 294-3954 to ask.
Can I buy meat directly from the shop?
The shop's site describes a full-service shop with a retail counter and fresh meat products, and the establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Hours, current inventory, and any delivery or shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the plant USDA inspected?
Yes. FSIS lists the establishment as M45570 with a grant of inspection dated August 5, 2021, covering meat slaughter and meat processing. No other certifications such as organic, halal, or kosher are indicated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
August 5, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Big Cove Tannery