Federally inspected establishment
EST. M3444Red Barn Butcher Shop
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Fredonia, Pennsylvania, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.
2037 Mercer Road, Fredonia, Pennsylvania 16124 · Mercer County
At a glance
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS
- ·Offers custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
- ·Reports retail-exempt sales, indicating direct sales to households
- ·Very small size class with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year
- ·No website on file; details beyond the federal record and directory listings are not documented
About Red Barn Butcher Shop
Red Barn Butcher Shop is a very small USDA-inspected establishment at 2037 Mercer Road in Fredonia, Mercer County, Pennsylvania, operating under establishment number M3444. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities, with a grant of inspection date on file of August 5, 2025. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb.
The plant reports a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year, which places it among the smaller inspected slaughter operations in the state. In addition to federally inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the resulting packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.
No website is on file for this establishment. Directory listings on Yelp, Yellow Pages, Superpages, MapQuest, and Yahoo Local confirm the address and the phone number, (724) 475-1188, and a Yelp snippet shows Monday and Tuesday hours of 7:00 am to 6:00 pm. Details beyond the federal record and these listings, including pricing, booking lead times, cut and wrap options, and retail inventory, are not yet on file. Buyers and producers should call to confirm current services.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Meat slaughter under federal inspection
- Meat processing under federal inspection
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
Hours as listed
A Yelp listing shows Monday 7:00 am to 6:00 pm and Tuesday 7:00 am to 6:00 pm. Hours for the remaining days are not stated in the sources on file.
For farmers and ranchers
The establishment is listed with FSIS for both slaughter and processing, and reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a producer can have an animal they own processed with packages marked Not for Sale for their own use. With a reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year, capacity is limited, and the sources on file do not state booking windows, deposits, kill day schedules, hanging times, cut and wrap fees, or minimums. Producers should call (724) 475-1188 to ask about scheduling and requirements.
Red Barn Butcher Shop reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates meat sold directly to household customers at the establishment, and secondary directory listings categorize it as a butcher shop and meats business. Specific counter offerings, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in any source on file.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Red Barn Butcher Shop
Is Red Barn Butcher Shop USDA inspected?
What animals does the plant slaughter?
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
Can households buy meat directly?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
- Grant on file
- August 5, 2025
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Fredonia
- Howard & Son Meatpacking8 mi
Mercer · Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Jallaq Meats, LLC11 mi
West Middlesex · Sheep and lamb
- Wilmington Slaughter14 mi
New Wilmington · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Palumbo's Meat Market14 mi
West Middlesex · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Livingston's Packing Co.17 mi
Jamestown · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Wright's Packing Co.34 mi
Fombell · Cattle, Hogs