Federally inspected establishment
EST. M34384EST. V34384Elkton Locker and Grocery, Inc.
Doing business as Big Daddy's Meats
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Elkton, South Dakota, doing business as Big Daddy's Meats.
127 Elk Street, Elkton, South Dakota 57026 · Brookings County
At a glance
- ·Federal establishment numbers M34384 and V34384, grant of inspection dated March 11, 2016.
- ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection.
- ·FSIS size class very small, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·Offers both custom-exempt slaughter (Not for Sale packaging) and retail-exempt sales, as listed.
- ·No company website text is on file; the listed website resolves to a general business directory.
About Elkton Locker and Grocery, Inc.
Elkton Locker and Grocery, Inc., doing business as Big Daddy's Meats, operates at 127 Elk Street in Elkton, South Dakota, in Brookings County. The plant holds USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service establishment numbers M34384 and V34384, with a grant of inspection dated March 11, 2016. FSIS lists it under meat slaughter and meat processing, along with voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat.
The establishment reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison under inspection. FSIS classifies it as very small, with a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.
The website on file for this listing resolves to a general business directory rather than a page for the establishment, so no company-authored description was available. Search listings show variations of the address and name, including 127 N Elk St and 101 N Elk St, and one listing adds catering to the business name. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking lead times, and product lists, are not yet on file.
Services
- USDA-inspected meat slaughter
- USDA-inspected meat processing
- Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat species
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animal owners
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.
For farmers and ranchers
FSIS records list this establishment for both inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and bison. Animals processed under the custom exemption are returned to the owner in packages marked Not for Sale and cannot be resold. Animals slaughtered under federal inspection may enter commerce. The plant is classified as very small, with reported slaughter under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited relative to larger regional plants. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, kill fees, cut and wrap charges, and hanging weight policies are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call (605) 542-2291 to confirm species, dates, and whether work is being accepted.
Elkton Locker and Grocery, Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The business name and the federal record indicate a locker and grocery operation, and FSIS notes retail-exempt sales, which generally means over-the-counter sales to household customers at the establishment. The sources on file do not describe a retail case, bundles, halves or quarters, shipping, or online ordering. Households should call (605) 542-2291 to ask what is available.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Elkton Locker and Grocery, Inc.
What species does this plant slaughter?
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
Is there a retail counter or store?
What is the correct address?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
- Grant on file
- March 11, 2016
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/establishments, https://usdirectory.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Elkton
- Smithfield Packaged Meats Corp.48 mi
Sioux Falls · Hogs
- Grand Prairie Foods, Inc.48 mi
Sioux Falls · species not reported
- Cut Meat Creek Custom59 mi
Chancellor · species not reported · custom-exempt
- Cut Meat Creek Custom LLC59 mi
Chancellor · Cattle · custom-exempt
- Hillcrest Meats LLC76 mi
Garden City · species not reported
- Very Good Meat Company76 mi
Hudson · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt