Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3472AEST. V3472A

Cut Meat Creek Custom LLC

Doing business as Cut Meat Creek Custom

Mobile beef harvest and processing based in Chancellor, South Dakota, with USDA and custom-exempt service.

46125 271st Street, Chancellor, South Dakota 57015 · Turner County

cutmeatcreek.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists cattle slaughter under inspection, Very Small size class, under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Mobile harvest unit travels to the producer, with stated capacity of up to 10 cattle per visit.
  • ·Both USDA inspected and custom-exempt harvest are offered, as described by the business.
  • ·Wet and dry aging available at the company's processing shop.
  • ·Producers may be onsite during harvest, and hanging weights are verified, per the website.

About Cut Meat Creek Custom LLC

Cut Meat Creek Custom LLC operates from 46125 271st Street in Chancellor, Turner County, South Dakota, under FSIS establishment numbers M3472A and V3472A. The federal record lists activities including meat slaughter, meat processing, meat identification, and voluntary slaughter and processing of meat. FSIS classes the plant as Very Small and records cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is March 24, 2026. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The business describes itself as a mobile operation that brings a USDA compliant mobile harvest unit to the producer rather than requiring animals to be loaded and hauled. Its website states the mobile harvest trailer can handle up to 10 cattle, and the About page refers to onsite harvesting for up to 10 beef or bison. A separate processing shop is described as equipped for wet and dry aging, and customers are invited to visit the shop at least once. The site states that both custom-exempt and USDA harvest and processing are offered, and that onsite services would begin in fall 2025.

The About page names Frederick Leader Charge as owner-operator, describing him as born and raised on the Rosebud from the Wososo Wakpala and a veteran of the 101st Airborne Division with two deployments. Brooke, his wife, is described as social media manager and a nurse with a background in critical care and infection control. Contact information listed is (605) 951-5369 and Frederick@cutmeatcreek.com. Hours, prices, cut sheet details, and retail counter information are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Mobile onsite cattle harvest
  • Beef slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (packages marked Not for Sale)
  • Meat processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • Wet aging
  • Dry aging
  • Splitting and hanging weight verification
  • Delivery of finished product as described by the business

Species under inspection

steersheifers

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The operation is built around bringing a mobile harvest unit to the producer, which the website presents as avoiding the loading and hauling of animals. The stated capacity is up to 10 cattle per visit, described elsewhere on the site as up to 10 beef or bison. Booking begins by contacting Fred at (605) 951-5369, and the website states the business is now booking both USDA inspected and custom harvests. The business offers transparent splitting and hanging weight verification, invites producers to be onsite with their animal, and offers a choice of wet or dry aging at its shop. FSIS records cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection; bison is mentioned only on the website. Minimums, scheduling lead times, fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file.

Cut Meat Creek Custom LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, but no retail counter, store hours, bundle offerings, halves or quarters pricing, online ordering, or shipping are described in the sources on file. Households buying an animal from a producer would receive custom-exempt product marked Not for Sale unless the harvest is done under USDA inspection, which the business states it also offers. The website invites customers to visit the shop at least once to see the facility.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Cut Meat Creek Custom LLC

Does Cut Meat Creek Custom slaughter animals other than cattle?
FSIS records cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection. The website's About page mentions onsite harvesting for up to 10 beef or bison. Other species are not stated in the sources on file.
Can meat from this plant be sold to the public?
The establishment holds a federal grant of inspection and reports retail-exempt sales, so product harvested under inspection can be sold. Product handled custom-exempt is returned to the animal's owner in packages marked Not for Sale.
How does a producer book a harvest?
The website directs customers to contact Fred at (605) 951-5369 or Frederick@cutmeatcreek.com to schedule. It states the business is now booking USDA inspected and custom harvests. Lead times, deposits, and minimums are not stated.
What are the hours and prices?
Neither hours nor prices are stated in the sources on file. Details beyond the federal record and the company website are not yet on file.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
March 24, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/cut-meat-creek-custom-llc, https://www.cutmeatcreek.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Chancellor