Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M928EST. V928

Stone Mountain Meats

Family-owned USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant for beef, pork, and lamb in Greeneville, Tennessee.

8989 Horton Highway, Greeneville, Tennessee 37745 · Greene County

stonemountainmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSISListed by the Tennessee Department of Agriculture among licensed custom slaughter operations (2021, per the company website)

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS
  • ·Offers both custom-exempt processing for personal use and USDA-inspected processing for resale
  • ·Published fees effective January 1, 2024: custom kill $70 and $0.95/lb, USDA kill $80 and $1.05/lb
  • ·Very small plant, FSIS slaughter volume category under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Retail case plus an online Square store for bundles and select cuts

About Stone Mountain Meats

Stone Mountain Meats operates under USDA establishment numbers M928 and V928 at 8989 Horton Highway, Greeneville, Tennessee, in Greene County. FSIS lists the plant for meat slaughter, meat processing, and identification of meat and poultry, with a grant of inspection date on file of May 5, 2023. It is classified as very small, with a reported slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes a family-owned butcher house at the base of Stone Mountain, co-owned by father and son Jeff Fillers and Timothy Fillers, who are described as engineers turned butchers. The site states the business was established in 2020 to help meet processing needs in Greene County. Address language on the site varies, describing the facility as being in Greeneville, TN and also in Baileyton, TN; the FSIS record lists the Horton Highway address in Greeneville. The site notes the operation was listed in the Tennessee Department of Agriculture roster of licensed custom slaughter operations in 2021 and says it was voted the Greeneville Sun 2023 best meats and butcher shop, and that it served 391 customers in the twelve months before January 2024.

Two lines of work are described: processing animals brought in by farmers, businesses, and individuals, and retail sales of meat from livestock the owners raise themselves. Hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for personal use, packaged Not for Sale
  • USDA-inspected processing for resale
  • Cut and wrap to customer cut sheet
  • Grind packaging in 1 lb and 2 lb sleeves or vacuum sealed
  • Kill and chill service with daily storage
  • Identification of meat and poultry
  • Retail meat sales
  • Online pre-order through a Square store

Species under inspection

beef cattlebullsdairy cowshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef steak, brisket, ribeye, roast, hamburger
  • Pork sausage, bacon, ham, ribs, chops
  • Lamb chops, ribs, roast, legs, ground lamb
  • Vacuum-sealed packaged cuts
  • Pre-order bundles

For farmers and ranchers

The website invites farmers, businesses, and individuals to email or call to get on the schedule, then bring live animals from their farm or purchased from a farmer on the assigned date and return later to pick up packaged cuts. Customers fill out a beef, pork, or lamb cut sheet, downloadable from the site. Two options are offered: custom processing for personal use, returned marked for the owner, and USDA-inspected processing that includes inspection and labeling so the meat can be sold at markets or to restaurants. Pricing listed as effective January 1, 2024 is a custom kill fee of $70 with processing at $0.95 per pound, and a USDA kill fee of $80 with processing at $1.05 per pound, for beef, pork, and lamb alike. Grind in 2 lb sleeves is included; 1 lb sleeves add $0.10 per pound, 2 lb vacuum sealed adds $0.25 per pound, and 1 lb vacuum sealed adds $0.35 per pound. A kill and chill add-on is the kill fee plus $25 per day of storage. Minimums and lead times are not stated in the sources on file.

Stone Mountain Meats reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Households can buy meat from livestock the owners raise and butcher in house. The website says cuts are vacuum sealed and packaged for pickup, and that buyers can browse the case in the shop, purchase bundles and select cuts through the business's online Square store, or request specific cuts using a form on the website. Halves and quarters, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Stone Mountain Meats

What species does this plant slaughter?
Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are the species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS. The website describes beef, pork, and lamb processing.
Can I sell meat processed here?
Yes, according to the website, meat processed under the USDA-inspected option includes required inspection and labeling for legal sale at markets or to restaurants. Custom processing is for personal use only and is returned marked Not for Sale.
What does processing cost?
The website lists fees effective January 1, 2024: custom kill fee $70 plus $0.95 per pound processing, or USDA kill fee $80 plus $1.05 per pound, for beef, pork, and lamb. Grind packaging upcharges range from $0.10 to $0.35 per pound, and kill and chill is the kill fee plus $25 per day of storage.
What are the hours, and does the plant ship?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file, and no delivery or shipping is mentioned. The website describes pickup at the facility, with online pre-orders available through a Square store. Scheduling is arranged by phone or email, as listed.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Identification - Poultry; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
May 5, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://stonemountainmeats.com/, https://stonemountainmeats.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Greeneville