Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M9085EST. V9085

SAN Meat Packing Inc.

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Afton, Tennessee, with halal certification and a retail meat market.

5900 E Andrew Johnson Highway, Afton, Tennessee 37616 · Greene County

sanmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalalKosher

At a glance

  • ·USDA-inspected slaughter and processing under Est. M9085 and V9085, FSIS size class Very Small.
  • ·Reports both halal and kosher slaughter to FSIS; website cites HFSSA halal certification for beef, lamb, and goat.
  • ·Handles both inspected work for resale and custom-exempt work for animals owned by the customer.
  • ·Website states carcasses are hung up to 14 days, then cut into boneless and bone-in cuts and vacuum sealed.
  • ·Retail market plus online ordering with local pickup, delivery, or nationwide shipping.

About SAN Meat Packing Inc.

SAN Meat Packing Inc. operates at 5900 E Andrew Johnson Highway in Afton, Greene County, Tennessee, under USDA establishment numbers M9085 and V9085. The FSIS directory lists the plant as Very Small, with a grant of inspection on file dated May 10, 2022, and activities covering meat slaughter, meat processing, meat and poultry identification, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing. Species slaughtered under inspection are reported to FSIS as cattle, sheep and lamb, and bison, and the reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales. Both halal and kosher slaughter are reported to FSIS.

The company website describes SAN Meats as a family-owned business founded by Sal, Aidan, and Neha in Eastern Tennessee, operating three divisions: SAN Meat Packing, SAN Meat Market, and SAN On-Line. It states the facility is USDA inspected and holds HFSSA halal certification for beef, lamb, and goat. A search snippet from a related company site gives 2023 as the year of inception, and a Yelp listing states the processing plant was purchased in November 2023, while the grant of inspection on file with FSIS is dated 2022. The website lists goat among the species harvested and sold; the species reported to FSIS are cattle, sheep and lamb, and bison. The website mentions halal certification and Zabiha halal chicken but does not describe kosher work, which the plant reports to FSIS.

On the processing side, the website says carcasses are hung for up to 14 days before processing, that carcasses are broken into boneless and bone-in cuts, and that steaks are vacuum sealed, customized, and labeled to customer preference. Cattle are described as Red and Black Angus, both grain fed and grass fed. Hours are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • Meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Halal slaughter
  • Kosher slaughter (as reported to FSIS)
  • Carcass hanging up to 14 days
  • Cutting into boneless and bone-in cuts
  • Vacuum sealing, custom cutting, and labeling
  • Meat and poultry identification
  • Retail meat market
  • Online ordering with local pickup, delivery, or nationwide shipping

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowslambsbisonyak

Products and retail

  • SAN Premium steaks
  • Premium steak boxes
  • Ground beef (80%, 90%, 93%, 16 oz)
  • Burger patties
  • Bulk beef and boxes of bone-in beef cuts
  • Whole and half beef
  • Lamb cuts, boxes, and whole lamb
  • Goat cuts, boxes, and whole goat
  • Whole chicken, chicken cut into 8 or 16 pieces, leg quarters, breast, thigh, drumstick (Zabiha halal)
  • Beef bacon
  • Sausages
  • Philly steaks
  • Cube steaks
  • Beef and lamb jerky
  • Cheek, tongue, organs, oxtail, bone marrow
  • Lamb and goat for special events

For farmers and ranchers

The website states the plant harvests beef, bison, lamb, and goat for livestock farmers under USDA inspection, meeting standards for resale, and the federal record shows meat slaughter and processing activity plus custom-exempt slaughter, where animals owned by the customer are returned in packages marked Not for Sale. Reported species slaughtered under inspection are cattle, sheep and lamb, and bison, and reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year, consistent with the Very Small FSIS size class. Halal and kosher slaughter are both reported to FSIS, and the website cites HFSSA halal certification for beef, lamb, and goat. Booking lead times, minimums, kill days, and cut and wrap fees are not stated in the sources on file. The website has a contact form and a custom order form page; the listed phone number is (423) 638-7001.

SAN Meat Packing Inc. reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail division, SAN Meat Market, offering whole, half, quarter, or custom cuts from Red and Black Angus cattle, grain fed and grass fed, processed on site. An online store lists individual items such as ground beef at 80%, 90%, and 93% lean in 16 oz packages, premium steaks and steak boxes, lamb and goat cuts, boxes, and whole animals, and Zabiha halal chicken in several forms. Orders can be placed online for local pickup, delivery, or nationwide shipping through SAN On-Line, with overnight or 2 day shipping offered as options. The store address is 5900 E Andrew Johnson Hwy, Afton, Tennessee 37616. Store hours are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about SAN Meat Packing Inc.

What species does this plant slaughter?
The federal record reports cattle, sheep and lamb, and bison slaughtered under inspection. The website also describes harvesting goat and sells goat cuts, boxes, and whole goat, along with Zabiha halal chicken products.
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal use?
Yes, as listed. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer and marks the packages Not for Sale. Minimums, scheduling, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the meat halal or kosher?
The plant reports both halal and kosher slaughter to FSIS. The website states HFSSA halal certification for beef, lamb, and goat and lists Zabiha halal chicken, but the website does not describe kosher work.
Can a household buy directly, and is shipping available?
The website describes a retail SAN Meat Market at the Afton address and online ordering for local pickup, delivery, or nationwide shipping, with overnight or 2 day shipping options. Store hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Identification - Poultry; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
May 10, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://sanmeats.com/, https://sanmeats.com/pages/processing) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Afton