Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M8314EST. V8314

Swaggerty Sausage Company, Inc.

Doing business as Smoky Farms; Swaggerty Sausage

Large USDA-inspected hog slaughter and pork processing plant in Kodak, Tennessee.

2827 Swaggerty Road Suite 1, Kodak, Tennessee 37764 · Sevier County

swaggertys.com

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·USDA FSIS establishment M8314+V8314, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Hogs are the only species listed as slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·FSIS size class: large; slaughter volume category 4.0.
  • ·No custom-exempt processing reported; retail-exempt sales are reported.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file: July 15, 2021.

About Swaggerty Sausage Company, Inc.

Swaggerty Sausage Company, Inc. operates at 2827 Swaggerty Road Suite 1 in Kodak, Sevier County, Tennessee, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M8314 and V8314. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter and meat processing, with hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection, and classifies it as a large establishment. The grant of inspection date on file is July 15, 2021. FSIS records the plant in slaughter volume category 4.0, well above the smallest category of under 1,000 head per year. The company also does business under the names Smoky Farms and Swaggerty Sausage.

The company's website presents the business as Swaggerty's Farm and describes premium pork breakfast sausage as its main line. Secondary listings and the company's own about page place its origins on a Sevier County farm in Kodak, where Lonas Swaggerty made sausage, and cite 1930 as the founding year. Beyond that, the fetched website text was largely page code rather than readable content, so product lists, ordering details, and plant policies are not on file here.

No custom-exempt activity is reported to FSIS, which means the plant is not recorded as processing animals for individual owners under the custom exemption. The plant does report retail-exempt sales. Buyers and producers should contact the company directly at (865) 933-2625 to confirm what it takes in and what it sells, since availability and terms are not stated in the sources.

Services

  • Hog slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Retail-exempt sales as reported to FSIS

Species under inspection

sows

Products and retail

  • Pork breakfast sausage

For farmers and ranchers

FSIS lists this establishment for hog slaughter and meat processing at a large-plant scale, in slaughter volume category 4.0. No custom-exempt activity is reported, so the federal record gives no indication that the plant processes animals for individual owners under a custom exemption. Whether it buys or takes in hogs from outside producers, and on what booking terms, is not stated in the sources. Producers should call (865) 933-2625 to ask.

Swaggerty Sausage Company, Inc. operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The company markets under the Swaggerty's Farm name and describes premium pork breakfast sausage as its product focus. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. The sources on file do not state whether there is a retail counter at the Kodak location, whether halves or quarters are sold, or whether online ordering, shipping, or delivery is offered.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Swaggerty Sausage Company, Inc.

What animals does this plant slaughter?
The federal record lists hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection. No other species are listed.
Can a farmer bring hogs here for custom processing?
The sources do not say. FSIS reports no custom-exempt activity for this establishment. Contact the plant at (865) 933-2625 to ask about its terms.
Can households buy meat directly at the Kodak location?
Not stated. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, but the sources do not describe a retail counter, bundles, or shipping.
How old is the business?
Secondary listings and the company's Facebook page give 1930 as the founding year, with origins on a Sevier County farm in Kodak. The FSIS grant of inspection date on file is July 15, 2021, which reflects the current federal grant rather than the company's founding.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 15, 2021
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.swaggertys.com/, https://www.swaggertys.com/about/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Kodak