Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47711

The Butcher Shop at Hyde Farms, LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant on a family farm in Greenback, Tennessee, with an on-site retail store.

7431 Hwy 411, Greenback, Tennessee 37742 · Loudon County

hydefarms.net

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptTennessee State Certified Master Beef Producers, as stated on the website

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M47711, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Very small size class with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year; cattle and hogs reported slaughtered.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Website describes a 6,500 square foot USDA plant and retail store completed in 2021 on the farm in Greenback, plus a second retail store in Athens, Tennessee.
  • ·Beef and pork are raised on the family's own farms, with Black Angus cattle and Yorkshire/Hamshire hogs named on the website.

About The Butcher Shop at Hyde Farms, LLC

The Butcher Shop at Hyde Farms, LLC operates at 7431 Hwy 411 in Greenback, Loudon County, Tennessee, under FSIS establishment number M47711. The federal record lists meat slaughter and meat processing activities, a very small size class, and a grant of inspection dated June 22, 2023. Cattle and hogs are the species reported slaughtered under inspection, with a slaughter volume category of 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The Hyde Farms website describes a farming operation dating to 1978, when Mitchell Hyde began raising cattle and hogs and growing seasonal fruits and vegetables. The operation now covers more than 1,500 acres in and around Loudon, Monroe, and McMinn Counties. According to the site, the business started with a farm stand in 2012, began offering farm fresh pork and beef in 2018, completed construction of a 6,500 square foot USDA processing plant and retail store on the Greenback farm in 2021, and opened a second retail store, Hyde Farms Meat Market, in Athens, Tennessee, in 2022. The site describes two teams, a five-person Farm Team and a six-person Butcher Shop Team that handles daily butchering, processing, packing, and marketing in both Greenback and Athens.

The website presents the business primarily as a farm selling its own meat rather than as a service processor for other producers. It states that Hyde Farms raises Yorkshire/Hamshire hogs and Black Angus cattle, that the cattle are raised on grass pastures and supplemented with farm-raised feed and hay, and that hog rations are designed by a nutritionist using feed raised on the farms. The site describes the operation as the only facility in East Tennessee that handles every step of the process. Terms for outside customers bringing animals, including booking, scheduling, and fees, are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • On-farm retail store
  • In-house grinding

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssows

Products and retail

  • Ribeyes
  • T-bones
  • Filets
  • Roasts
  • Brisket
  • Beef tongue
  • Beef ribs
  • Ox tail
  • Liver
  • Suet
  • Ground beef
  • Ground brisket
  • Ground sirloin
  • Ground chuck
  • Boneless and bone-in pork chops
  • Baby back ribs
  • St. Louis style ribs
  • Boston butts
  • Sliced ham
  • Tenderized pork
  • Ground pork
  • Pork tenderloin
  • Breakfast sausage

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows that this establishment slaughters cattle and hogs under inspection and also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which the customer's own animals are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year. The website describes the operation as processing livestock raised on the Hyde family farms and does not state whether outside animals are accepted, nor does it list booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, or cut and wrap charges. Producers should contact the plant directly at (423) 667-6981 to ask about availability, as listed.

The Butcher Shop at Hyde Farms, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website states that a retail store is located at the processing plant on the farm in Greenback, Tennessee, and that a second retail store, Hyde Farms Meat Market, opened in Athens, Tennessee, in 2022. Beef listed includes ribeyes, T-bones, filets, roasts, brisket, ribs, tongue, ox tail, liver, and suet, along with ground beef, ground brisket, ground sirloin, and ground chuck ground in house daily. Pork listed includes boneless and bone-in chops, baby back and St. Louis style ribs, Boston butts, sliced ham, tenderized pork, ground pork, tenderloin, and breakfast sausage. The sources do not state store hours, prices, whether halves or quarters are sold, or whether online ordering, delivery, or shipping is available.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about The Butcher Shop at Hyde Farms, LLC

Does this plant slaughter as well as cut and package?
Yes. The FSIS directory lists both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities for establishment M47711, with cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
Can a farmer bring animals here for custom processing?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website does not describe terms for outside animals, and no booking process, minimums, or fees are stated in the sources. Contact the plant at (423) 667-6981 to confirm.
Where can households buy the meat?
The website describes a retail store at the processing plant in Greenback, Tennessee, and a second store, Hyde Farms Meat Market, in Athens, Tennessee, opened in 2022. Hours, prices, and whether bulk halves or quarters, delivery, or shipping are offered are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the plant halal, kosher, or certified organic?
Nothing in the federal record or the website text on file indicates halal, kosher, or organic certification. The website states the operation is Tennessee State Certified Master Beef Producers.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
June 22, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://hydefarms.net/, https://hydefarms.net/about-us-2/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Greenback