Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M21285EST. P21285

Harvest House Farms

Doing business as JC Lockers; Johnson City Locker Plant

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Johnson City, Texas, with a retail market and wild game work.

506 North Nugent Street, Johnson City, Texas 78636 · Blanco County

harvesthousemeat.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both meat and poultry under M21285+P21285, grant dated September 1, 2021.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb; FSIS size class Very Small, slaughter volume category 2.0.
  • ·Handles both federally inspected work and custom-exempt work with Not for Sale packaging.
  • ·Website describes wild game processing for white-tailed deer, axis, fallow, elk, other exotics, and wild hogs, with animals tagged and kept separate.
  • ·Retail market on site; online ordering and shipping are listed on the website as coming later.

About Harvest House Farms

Harvest House Farms, doing business as JC Lockers and Johnson City Locker Plant, operates at 506 North Nugent Street in Johnson City, Blanco County, Texas. The plant holds federal establishment numbers M21285 and P21285 for meat and poultry, with a grant of inspection dated September 1, 2021. FSIS lists it under Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities and classifies it as Very Small. Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb are reported as species slaughtered under inspection, and the FSIS slaughter volume category is 2.0. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The business website, harvesthousemeat.com, uses the name Harvest House Meat Processing and states that the history of the business dates back to 1959 and that Kip and Sandi Thompson began leading it in 1999. The site describes custom beef and pork harvest and processing, fresh beef sold whole, in sides, or in quarters, and fresh pork whole, in sides, or in pieces. It also describes wild game processing for white-tailed deer, axis, fallow, elk, other exotics, and wild hogs, with each animal tagged on arrival and kept separate so customers receive their own meat back. The site's species list for domestic processing includes goats, which are not among the species the plant reports slaughtering under inspection to FSIS.

A retail market is described on the site, with in house smoked bacon, ribeye steaks, and pork chops named as popular items. The site says cutting instruction links and online ordering with shipping are still to come, so those options are described as forthcoming rather than in place. Hours are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale packaging)
  • Custom beef harvest and processing
  • Custom pork harvest and processing
  • Wild game processing
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • In house smoking
  • Cut, package, and boxing for freezer

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowsroaster pigsferal swinelambs

Products and retail

  • In house smoked bacon
  • Ribeye steaks
  • Pork chops
  • Jerky
  • Snack sticks
  • Summer sausage in multiple flavors
  • Smoked sausage
  • Dry sausage
  • Fresh custom ring sausage
  • Whole chickens
  • Whole, fresh hogs
  • Fresh beef in wholes, sides, or quarters
  • Fresh pork whole, sides, or pieces
  • Ordered poultry or fish

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection to FSIS, and also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which the customer owns the animal and returned packages are marked Not for Sale. The website describes custom beef and pork processing on a you raise it, we will harvest it basis, and states that product can be returned under the producer's own label for the producer or the producer's customers. The site emphasizes keeping each customer's product separate and following specific cutting instructions, and notes that a cutting instruction link is still to be posted. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file. Contact the plant at (830) 868-7253 to confirm availability, as listed.

Harvest House Farms reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail market at the Johnson City location where customers can buy in house smoked bacon, ribeye steaks, pork chops, smoked items such as jerky, snack sticks, and several flavors of summer sausage, smoked sausage, and dry sausage, plus whole chickens and fresh custom ring sausage. Fresh beef is offered whole, in sides, or in quarters, and fresh pork whole, in sides, or in pieces. The site invites customers to stop in and says to check back for online ordering options to be shipped, so shipping is described as not yet available. Prices, bundle contents, and delivery are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Harvest House Farms

What species does this plant slaughter under inspection?
The plant reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb to FSIS. The website also mentions goats among domestic animals processed, which is not reflected in the FSIS species list on file.
Can a farmer have animals processed for resale?
The plant holds a federal grant of inspection for meat and poultry, and the website states product can be returned under the customer's own label for the customer or the customer's customers. It also reports custom-exempt work, where packages are marked Not for Sale and cannot be resold. Confirm which option applies to your animals before hauling.
Does the plant ship meat to customers?
Not currently, based on the sources. The retail market page asks customers to check back for online ordering options to be shipped.
What are the hours and prices?
Hours and prices are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (830) 868-7253.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
September 1, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://harvesthousemeat.com/, https://harvesthousemeat.com/domestic-harvest-processing/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Johnson City