Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47742

Local Cuts Meat Company

USDA-inspected beef processor and meat market in Zephyr, Texas, with slaughter and processing on site.

3024 FM 1467 SOUTH, Zephyr, Texas 76890 · Brown County

localcuts.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing, grant dated January 5, 2022.
  • ·Reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection; the website's public pages describe beef processing.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Very small FSIS size class, slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Website states custom labeling, package sizes, steak thickness, and specialty products can be tailored.

About Local Cuts Meat Company

Local Cuts Meat Company operates at 3024 FM 1467 South in Zephyr, Brown County, Texas, under USDA FSIS establishment number M47742. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection dated January 5, 2022. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes a facility built new by its founders and focuses its published material on beef. It states the operation serves local producers seeking broader distribution, ranchers, restaurants, retailers, and specialty food service companies. The website credits Mike Crawford, described as a local rancher and beef producer with more than 25 years of experience dealing with other processors, and Pam Watkins, also described as a local rancher and producer with a background as a former executive. The site says they built their own processing operation after being dissatisfied with service and options from other processors.

Note the difference in scope between the two sources. The federal record shows cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, while the website's public pages describe beef processing and a beef-focused service list. A separate website page refers to a meat market with meats cut fresh daily, and the FAQ page includes a question about whether the company sells anything other than beef in its market, though the answer text is not in the material on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Custom cutting and packaging
  • Custom labeling, including customer logos on packages
  • Individual cut sheets for a producer's own customers
  • Primal cuts for restaurants
  • Value-added specialty meats
  • Retail meat market

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogslambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Steaks cut to requested thickness
  • Beef primals
  • Value-added specialty meats

Hours as listed

Monday through Friday 8:00 am to 5:30 pm; Saturday 9:00 am to 1:00 pm, as listed on the company website.

For farmers and ranchers

The website is aimed largely at ranchers and producers. It says processing slots are confirmed with the company directly and that package sizes, labeling, steak thickness, and value-added products can be tailored. The FAQ page lists questions about confirming a slot, moving or canceling a processing date, working with individual cut sheets supplied by a producer's own beef customers, putting a producer's logo on packages, supplying primals to restaurants, processing Texas Longhorns and whether special fees apply, expected packaged yield, and help maneuvering a trailer on arrival. The answers to those questions are not included in the text on file, so prices, minimums, lead times, and fee details are not stated here. Under the federal record the plant is inspected for slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and it also reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals. Producers should call to confirm species accepted, scheduling, and current availability.

Local Cuts Meat Company reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website's FAQ page indicates the company will address individuals who raise cattle for family and friends, buyers who want a half or whole and need to be connected with a rancher or producer, and people who want local beef without buying in bulk. A market page states that meats are cut fresh daily at the facility and invites customers to stop in. The specific answers, product lists, prices, bundles, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the material on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Local Cuts Meat Company

Can beef processed here be sold to the public?
The plant holds a federal grant of inspection for slaughter and processing, and its FAQ page lists a question about selling beef anywhere in the USA after processing at Local Cuts. The published answer is not in the material on file. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, and product from custom work is marked Not for Sale.
What species are accepted?
The federal record reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. The website's public pages describe beef processing. Call the plant to confirm what is accepted at any given time.
Is there a retail counter?
A page on the company website describes a meat market with meats cut fresh daily and invites customers to stop in. Specific retail products, prices, and any delivery or shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
How are processing slots booked?
The website's FAQ lists a question about confirming a slot, and the contact page gives a phone number, (325) 510-5064, and a message form. Booking terms, deposits, and lead times are not stated in the sources on file. No claim is made here that the plant is currently accepting work.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
January 5, 2022
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.localcuts.com/, https://www.localcuts.com/about-local-cuts) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Zephyr