Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1939

Mills County Meat Locker

Doing business as Mills County Meat Company

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Goldthwaite, Texas, with halal and custom-exempt work.

1119 Parker St., Goldthwaite, Texas 76844 · Mills County

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHalal

At a glance

  • ·USDA-inspected establishment M1939 in Goldthwaite, Texas, listed for both slaughter and processing.
  • ·Cattle plus sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Halal slaughter reported; an HMS USA certification listing exists for Mills County Meat Company.
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter available for customer-owned animals, packages marked Not for Sale.
  • ·No website on file; hours, pricing, and retail details are not documented.

About Mills County Meat Locker

Mills County Meat Locker, doing business as Mills County Meat Company, is a USDA-inspected meat plant at 1119 Parker St. in Goldthwaite, Texas, in Mills County. It operates under establishment number M1939 with a grant of inspection date on file of April 24, 2025, and is classed by FSIS as a small establishment. The federal record lists both meat slaughter and meat processing activities.

Under federal inspection the plant reports slaughtering cattle as well as sheep and lamb. It reports halal slaughter, and a listing from HMS USA indicates halal certification detail is published for Mills County Meat Company, though the certification status and scope should be verified directly. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it will process animals owned by the customer and return the packages marked Not for Sale. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 3.0, above the smallest reported tier.

No website is on file for this establishment and no operator-published text was available. A secondary directory describes the plant as providing slaughter and processing services in Goldthwaite serving Central Texas ranches. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, cut and wrap options, retail sales, and ownership, are not yet on file. Two phone numbers appear in public sources: FSIS lists (325) 938-6052, while a business directory lists (325) 648-3111 at the same street address.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Halal slaughter

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullssheeplambs

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both slaughter and processing to FSIS and handles cattle as well as sheep and lamb under inspection, so ranchers hauling either species have a listed option in Mills County. Custom-exempt slaughter is reported, which means animals owned by the customer can be processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale for the owner's own use. Halal slaughter is also reported. Scheduling practice, lead times, minimums, kill day availability, hanging and aging arrangements, cut and wrap choices, and fees are not stated in any source on file, so a producer should call before hauling. FSIS lists the phone as (325) 938-6052; a separate business directory lists (325) 648-3111 at the same address.

Mills County Meat Locker reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

Questions about Mills County Meat Locker

What species does this plant slaughter?
The federal record reports cattle as well as sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. No other species are listed.
Can I have my own animal processed for my family?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it processes animals owned by the customer and returns packages marked Not for Sale. Booking terms and fees are not stated in any source on file.
Is the plant halal?
Halal slaughter is reported to FSIS, and HMS USA publishes a certification detail page for Mills County Meat Company. Buyers should verify the current certification and its scope directly with the plant or the certifier.
Does it sell retail meat or ship orders?
Not stated. No website is on file and no source describes a retail counter, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, or shipping.
What are the hours and best phone number?
Hours are not stated in any source on file. FSIS lists (325) 938-6052 for establishment M1939; a business directory lists (325) 648-3111 at the same address, 1119 Parker St.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
April 24, 2025
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Goldthwaite