Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3924

Mount Pleasant Beef Packing Co, LLC

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Mount Pleasant, Texas, selling grass-fed beef direct.

1232 Dove Avenue, Mount Pleasant, Texas 75455 · Titus County

mountpleasantbeef.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing under establishment number M3924.
  • ·Reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb; FSIS volume category is under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Website sells grass-fed, grass-finished beef and some pork online, shipped frozen overnight on dry ice, with free shipping over $200.
  • ·Ranch visits are offered by appointment, Tuesday through Saturday.

About Mount Pleasant Beef Packing Co, LLC

Mount Pleasant Beef Packing Co, LLC operates at 1232 Dove Avenue in Mount Pleasant, Texas, in Titus County, under USDA FSIS establishment number M3924. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as small and places its slaughter volume in the lowest reported category, under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is March 26, 2026. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The business website, mountpleasantbeef.com, presents the operation primarily as a ranch and direct-to-consumer beef brand rather than a general-purpose custom shop. It describes a single Northeast Texas herd raised on 20,000 acres of open pasture, 100 percent grass-fed and grass-finished, with no grain, no feedlots, no added hormones, and no antibiotics, and states the cattle are naturally non-GMO because no feed is used. The process page states that every animal is processed in-house at the ranch's own abattoir and butchery, and that cuts are hand-trimmed, vacuum sealed, flash frozen, and shipped overnight on dry ice.

Note the difference in emphasis between the two records: the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales to FSIS, while the website describes only its own herd, its own harvest, and online sales of its own beef. The website does not describe taking in outside animals for custom slaughter or cut and wrap, and no booking process, kill-day schedule, or fee schedule is stated. Buyers and producers with questions beyond the federal record should contact the establishment directly.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals (packages marked Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • On-site butchery and hand-trimming of cuts
  • Vacuum sealing and flash freezing
  • Overnight frozen shipping on dry ice
  • Online ordering
  • Ranch visits by appointment
  • Bulk and restaurant supply inquiries

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Ribeye
  • New York strip
  • Picanha
  • Chuck roast
  • Short ribs
  • Top sirloin
  • Tri tip
  • Whole tenderloin
  • Beef shank
  • Oxtail
  • Stew meat
  • Ground beef
  • Ground beef patties (3-in-1)
  • Beef heart
  • Beef kidney
  • Beef liver
  • Beef tongue
  • Beef testicles
  • Pork chops
  • Pork shoulder
  • Pork breakfast sausage, mild and medium

Hours as listed

Tuesday through Saturday, by appointment, per the website contact page.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows Mount Pleasant Beef Packing Co, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, with resulting packages marked Not for Sale, and reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection. FSIS places annual slaughter volume in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year, and classifies the plant as small. The website, however, describes only harvest of the ranch's own herd at its on-ranch abattoir and butchery, and does not state booking procedures, lead times, minimums, hanging weight pricing, cut and wrap fees, or whether outside livestock are accepted. Producers should contact the establishment at (903) 572-8722 to confirm availability, as listed.

Mount Pleasant Beef Packing Co, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website sells individual beef cuts, ground beef, offal, and a few pork items through an online shop, with prices listed per item and per pound for some cuts, for example ribeye at $16.49 per pound. Orders ship frozen and overnight on dry ice from Mount Pleasant, and the site states complimentary shipping on orders over $200. Cuts are described as hand-trimmed, vacuum sealed, and flash frozen, sourced 100 percent from the ranch's Texas herd, raised without added hormones or antibiotics. The site invites bulk and restaurant supply inquiries by email at hello@mountpleasantbeef.com and offers ranch visits by appointment, Tuesday through Saturday. Halves and quarters are not mentioned, and no storefront retail counter hours are stated.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Mount Pleasant Beef Packing Co, LLC

Does this plant process animals for outside farmers and ranchers?
The federal record shows the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, which means processing animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. The website describes harvesting only the ranch's own herd and does not state terms for outside animals. Call (903) 572-8722 to confirm.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb as species slaughtered under inspection at establishment M3924.
Can households buy meat directly?
Yes, as listed. The website operates an online shop with beef cuts, ground beef, offal, and pork items, shipped frozen overnight on dry ice, with complimentary shipping on orders over $200. Halves and quarters are not mentioned on the site.
Is the beef certified organic or grass-fed certified?
No third-party certification is stated. The website makes label claims of 100 percent grass-fed and grass-finished, no grain, non-GMO, no added hormones, and no antibiotics. The only certification supported by the federal record is USDA FSIS inspection.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
March 26, 2026
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/mount-pleasant-beef-packing-co-llc, https://mountpleasantbeef.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Mount Pleasant