Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2074

Red Barn Butchering

USDA-inspected slaughter and custom processing for beef, pork, and lamb in Seminole, Texas, with an in-store meat counter.

686 US HWY 180 East, Seminole, Texas 79360 · Gaines County

redbarnbutchering.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA establishment M2074, listed for both meat slaughter and meat processing.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
  • ·Also reports custom-exempt slaughter for customer-owned animals and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Custom cut sheets posted online for beef, pork, and lamb and goat.
  • ·Very small plant, reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.

About Red Barn Butchering

Red Barn Butchering, LLC operates at 686 US Hwy 180 East in Seminole, Texas, in Gaines County. The plant holds USDA establishment number M2074 and is listed with FSIS for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection date on file of January 6, 2025. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats.

In addition to inspected work, the establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. The company website describes custom butchering and processing for beef, pork, and lamb for farmers, ranchers, businesses, and individuals, along with USDA-inspected butchering. Custom cut sheets are posted on the site for beef, pork, and lamb and goat.

The website states the business was founded in 2020 and is family-owned. A prices page exists on the site but no prices are listed on it. The federal record lists the phone number (432) 955-5920, while the website contact page lists (432) 209-6190 and the email redbarnbutchering@gmail.com. Hours are not stated in the material on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Custom cut and wrap to customer cut sheet
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Bulk orders placed in store or by phone

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambsgoats

Products and retail

  • Ground beef
  • Steaks
  • Soup bones
  • Pork chops
  • Smoked bacon
  • Lamb roast
  • Tallows and lards
  • Beef, pork, and lamb cuts

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment is listed with FSIS for meat slaughter and meat processing and reports slaughter of cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats under inspection, as well as custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals packaged Not for Sale. The website says custom processing is offered to farmers, ranchers, businesses, and individuals, with cuts and packaging to order, and posts custom cut sheets for beef, pork, and lamb and goat. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees, and per-pound cut and wrap rates are not stated in the sources; the site's prices page is blank. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is small. Contact the plant directly to confirm availability.

Red Barn Butchering reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes an in-store selection of fresh, locally sourced beef, pork, and lamb available daily, including ground beef, steaks, soup bones, pork chops, smoked bacon, lamb roast, and tallows and lards. Bulk orders can be placed in store or over the phone. The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Halves and quarters, bundle pricing, online ordering, delivery, and shipping are not mentioned in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Red Barn Butchering

Which species are slaughtered here?
Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and goats are reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection. The website describes processing for beef, pork, and lamb, and a cut sheet for lamb and goat.
Can I have my own animal processed and keep the meat?
Yes, as listed. The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale.
What does processing cost, and how far ahead should I book?
Not stated. The website has a prices page with no prices posted, and no scheduling lead times, minimums, or fees appear in the sources.
Which phone number should I use?
The FSIS record lists (432) 955-5920. The website contact page lists (432) 209-6190 and the email redbarnbutchering@gmail.com. Hours are not stated in the sources.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
January 6, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.redbarnbutchering.com/, https://www.redbarnbutchering.com/services) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Seminole