Federally inspected establishment
EST. M2019EST. P2019EST. V2019Anderson & Son Meat Processing LLC
USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Abingdon, Virginia, handling cattle, hogs, and sheep.
13200 Chip Ridge Rd, Abingdon, Virginia 24210 · Washington County
At a glance
- ·FSIS grant of inspection date on file: December 12, 2023.
- ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, as reported to FSIS.
- ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
- ·Very Small FSIS size class, with slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
- ·Located about three miles from downtown Abingdon, Virginia, per its website.
About Anderson & Son Meat Processing LLC
Anderson & Son Meat Processing LLC operates at 13200 Chip Ridge Rd in Abingdon, Washington County, Virginia, under FSIS establishment numbers M2019, P2019, and V2019. The federal record lists the plant for meat slaughter and meat processing, plus voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat. Its grant of inspection date on file is December 12, 2023, and FSIS classifies it in the Very Small size category.
Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant's reported slaughter volume falls in the under 1,000 head per year category. It also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it can process animals that remain the property of the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.
A website is on file at andersonandsonsmeats.com, which describes the operation as a family owned and operated processing facility located about three miles from downtown Abingdon, and lists a beef services page. Note the federal record uses the name Anderson & Son Meat Processing LLC while the website and social page use Anderson & Sons Meats. Detailed information beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking practices, and retail offerings, is not yet on file.
This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.
Services
- Meat slaughter under federal inspection
- Meat processing under federal inspection
- Voluntary slaughter, meat
- Voluntary processing, meat
- Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animal owners
- Retail-exempt sales
Species under inspection
Products and retail
- Beef
For farmers and ranchers
The plant is listed with FSIS for slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, and reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a producer can have animals they own processed with packages marked Not for Sale, or have animals slaughtered under federal inspection for meat intended for sale. FSIS records place annual slaughter volume under 1,000 head, which is typical of a very small plant. Booking windows, scheduling lead times, kill days, minimums, hanging weight fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Producers should contact the plant at (276) 623-3623 to confirm availability, as listed.
Anderson & Son Meat Processing LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.
For households
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, which indicates some direct sales activity, and the website on file includes a beef services page. Whether there is a staffed retail counter, halves and quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery, or shipping is not stated in the available sources.
If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.
Questions about Anderson & Son Meat Processing LLC
What animals does this plant slaughter?
Can I bring my own animal for personal use?
Can households buy meat directly?
Why do the names differ?
Federal record
- Activities
- Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
- Grant on file
- December 12, 2023
- Size class
- Very Small
- Slaughter volume
- Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)
Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.
Other USDA plants near Abingdon
- Washington County Meat Packing16 mi
Bristol · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Double L Meat Processing72 mi
Jonesville · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- Smith Valley Meats77 mi
Rich Creek · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- KC Farms Meats, LLC105 mi
Ferrum · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt
- EcoFriendly Foods135 mi
Moneta · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb, Poultry · custom-exempt
- The Butcher's Block139 mi
Dry Fork · Cattle, Hogs, Sheep and lamb · custom-exempt