Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M47541EST. V47541

Double L Meat Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Jonesville, Virginia, serving Lee County.

155 Boone Meat Drive, Jonesville, Virginia 24263 · Lee County

Facebook page

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Grant of inspection on file with FSIS dated February 13, 2024.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection.
  • ·Very small establishment, under 1,000 head slaughtered per year per FSIS volume category.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·Located at 155 Boone Meat Drive, Jonesville, Virginia, in Lee County.

About Double L Meat Processing

Double L Meat Processing operates at 155 Boone Meat Drive in Jonesville, Virginia, in Lee County. The plant holds establishment number M47541+V47541 and appears in the USDA FSIS directory with a grant of inspection dated February 13, 2024. FSIS lists its activities as meat processing, meat slaughter, voluntary processing of meat, and voluntary slaughter of meat, and classifies the establishment as very small.

The plant reports slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1.0, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. Double L also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

The establishment's website on file is a Facebook page. No substantive website text is available, and one Facebook post referenced in search results mentions visiting to purchase beef or sausage and a contact name of Lisa. A secondary blog listing places the plant in the central Appalachian region near the small town of Jonesville. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, ownership, booking practices, and fees, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing of meat
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing, packages marked Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef
  • Sausage

For farmers and ranchers

Double L Meat Processing reports both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so a producer can have animals harvested for sale under inspection or processed for the animal's owner with packages marked Not for Sale. Species reported slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant is classified very small, with an FSIS slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file. Producers should contact the plant directly to confirm availability, as listed.

Double L Meat Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and a Facebook post associated with the plant invites customers to visit to purchase beef or sausage. Retail hours, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Double L Meat Processing

What species does Double L Meat Processing slaughter?
The plant reports cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under federal inspection to FSIS.
Can a farmer bring an animal for personal freezer beef?
Yes, based on the federal record. Double L reports custom-exempt slaughter, where animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged Not for Sale. Booking terms and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly from the plant?
The establishment reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and a Facebook post associated with the plant mentions purchasing beef or sausage. Retail hours and product lists are not stated in the sources on file.
What are the hours and who owns the business?
Neither hours nor ownership is stated in the available sources. A Facebook post references a contact named Lisa, but no ownership detail is confirmed.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
February 13, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Jonesville