Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1908EST. V1908

Easternview Farms LLC

USDA-inspected and custom slaughter and processing for beef, pork, sheep, and goats in Charlotte County, Virginia.

1040 Deuprees Store Road, Drakes Branch, Virginia 23937 · Charlotte County

easternviewfarmsllc.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Very small plant with FSIS slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Offers both USDA-inspected processing for meat that will be sold and custom-exempt processing for the owner's own freezer.
  • ·FSIS lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection; the website also advertises goat and deer processing.
  • ·Published price list dated March 3, 2024, covering kill fees, per pound processing, and value-added products.
  • ·Stated turnaround of about three weeks for beef and pork and two weeks or less for sheep and goat.

About Easternview Farms LLC

Easternview Farms LLC operates at 1040 Deuprees Store Road in Drakes Branch, Virginia, in Charlotte County, under FSIS establishment numbers M1908 and V1908. The federal record lists meat slaughter and meat processing along with voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat, with a grant of inspection date on file of May 14, 2024. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, with a slaughter volume category of 1.0, meaning under 1,000 head per year. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale.

The company website describes processing for beef, pork, sheep, and goats, and states the business began processing in 2020 after the owners could not find a processor with availability and the quality they expected. The website says the USDA grant of inspection was obtained in February 2024, while the federal record shows a grant date of May 14, 2024. The site also lists goat processing and deer processing, which are not part of the FSIS species record for this establishment. Work is described as custom cutting to the customer's instructions, vacuum sealed, labeled, and frozen for pickup, with value-added items such as bacon, ham, hot dogs, bratwurst, summer sausage, and jerky.

In addition to processing, the website states that Easternview Farms offers animals for sale, sourced from selected local farms, and that customers may deal with the farmer directly or through the plant. Buyers are told they can purchase a whole, half, or quarter beef. Hours of operation are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing, packages marked Not for Sale
  • Voluntary slaughter and voluntary processing of meat
  • Custom cutting to customer instructions
  • Vacuum sealing, labeling, and freezing
  • Beef aging, described as approximately 14 days
  • Curing and smoking
  • Deer processing, as listed on the website
  • Organ packing, USDA and custom
  • Boxing of finished orders

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Steaks, including tomahawk steak
  • Roasts
  • Ground beef
  • Cube steak, stew beef, fajita meat, shaved meat
  • Beef patties and pork patties
  • Cured bacon and hams, brined, smoked, and sliced
  • Hot dogs and bologna
  • Bratwurst and other specialty sausages
  • Summer sausage, including jalapeno and cheese versions
  • Jerky
  • Whole, half, and quarter beef
  • Beef, pork, sheep, and goat sourced from selected farms

For farmers and ranchers

The website instructs livestock owners to schedule processing appointments in advance, noting that dates fill quickly in busy seasons, and to arrive with a clean, secure trailer with working ramps, gates, and latches. Extra time is recommended for hogs. Customers are asked to bring cutting instructions and to plan specialty products ahead of the appointment. After drop-off the animal rests before processing, is skinned, eviscerated, split, cleaned, and sprayed with vinegar before going into the cooler. Beef is aged about 14 days. The website states most beef and pork orders are completed in about three weeks, with sheep and goat often finished in two weeks or less. The posted price list, dated March 3, 2024 and subject to change, shows USDA kill fees of $75 for beef, $35 for pork or $50 if over 450 pounds, and $25 for sheep and goat, plus $25 to keep the hide. Processing is listed at $1.05 per pound hanging weight for beef, $1 per pound live weight for hogs, $125 per animal for sheep and goat, and $90 per animal for deer. Additional charges are listed for cured bacon and hams at $4 per pound, hot dogs and bologna at $5 per pound, summer sausage from $4 to $6 per pound, jerky at $6 per pound, organ packing, single steak packaging at 10 cents per pound hanging weight, patties, and boxing at $4 per box. Farmers planning to sell cuts to the public are directed to USDA-inspected processing rather than custom.

Easternview Farms LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website states that Easternview Farms sells beef, pork, sheep, and goat sourced from selected local farmers, and that customers can buy a whole, half, or quarter beef and have it cut to their preferences. Orders are vacuum sealed, labeled, and frozen for pickup. The site advises that a whole beef takes roughly 20 cubic feet of freezer space, a half about 10, and a quarter about 5. Customers who own a share of an animal before processing may use custom processing, in which case the meat is for personal use and cannot be resold. No retail store hours, delivery, shipping, or online ordering are mentioned in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Easternview Farms LLC

Can I sell the meat processed here at a farmers market or to restaurants?
Yes, if you choose USDA-inspected processing. The establishment holds a federal grant of inspection under M1908 and V1908, and its website explains that USDA processing allows the finished meat to be sold to restaurants, grocery stores, farmers markets, or individual customers. Custom-exempt work is marked Not for Sale and is for the owner's use only.
What species does the plant handle?
FSIS records cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. The website advertises processing for beef, pork, sheep, and goats, and lists deer processing at $90 per animal. Goat and deer are not reflected in the FSIS species record on file.
What does processing cost?
The website price list, dated March 3, 2024 and subject to change without notice, lists beef at $1.05 per pound hanging weight, hogs at $1 per pound live weight, sheep and goat at $125 per animal, and deer at $90 per animal, plus USDA kill fees of $75 for beef, $35 for pork or $50 over 450 pounds, and $25 for sheep and goat. Prices may have changed since that date.
Is there a retail counter and what are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The website says the business sells beef, pork, sheep, and goat sourced from selected farms and that customers can buy whole, half, or quarter beef, but it does not describe a storefront, delivery, or shipping. Contact the plant at (434) 208-8602 to confirm availability, as listed.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
May 14, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://easternviewfarmsllc.com/, https://easternviewfarmsllc.com/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Drakes Branch