Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M6423EST. P6423EST. V6423

Rainier Pure Beef Company

USDA-inspected cattle slaughter and beef fabrication plant in Woodland, Washington, selling wholesale.

350 South Pekin Rd, Woodland, Washington 98674 · Cowlitz County

rainierpurebeef.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHACCP system, described by the plant as validated

At a glance

  • ·FSIS lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing and voluntary meat slaughter; cattle is the species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Reports custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Small plant by FSIS size class, slaughter volume category 3.0.
  • ·Website describes wholesale sales to distributors, further processors and manufacturers rather than direct retail.
  • ·Grass-fed, grass-finished and USDA organic beef programs described on the company website, including WholePasture Beef from Purewater Ranch in Eastern Washington.

About Rainier Pure Beef Company

Rainier Pure Beef Company operates at 350 South Pekin Rd in Woodland, Cowlitz County, Washington, under FSIS establishment numbers M6423, P6423 and V6423. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing and voluntary meat slaughter, with cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classes the plant as small, records a grant of inspection dated December 9, 2021, and places it in slaughter volume category 3.0. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale.

The company website describes the operation as a privately held meatpacker serving the Western United States, with operations spanning sourcing, harvesting and fabrication. It states that its reputation was built as a custom processor and that its output includes primals, sub-primals, grind trimmings and offal moving into grocery retail, food service and ingredient channels. Organic, grass-fed and conventional beef trimmings and offal are listed. The site says all products are processed under USDA inspection using a validated HACCP system, supported by antimicrobial interventions and ongoing microbiological testing, and that an organic program meets USDA organic standards.

The site traces the site's history to cattle raising at Horseshoe Lake beginning in 1897, the opening of the McKinley Meat Packing Plant in 1961, and its later operation as Walt's Wholesale Meats for more than 60 years. In 2021 Walt's was acquired by Founders Group of Food Companies, described as a family owned organization, and the business now operates as Rainier Pure Beef Company. Branded programs named are WholePasture Beef, a 100% grass-fed and grass-finished Angus program sourced from the company's Purewater Ranch in Eastern Washington, and Rainier Premium Beef, a grass-fed program. The website states the company focuses on wholesale volume to foodservice and retail distributors, further processors and manufacturers. Hours, retail counter details and custom processing terms are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing and fabrication
  • Poultry processing (as listed with FSIS)
  • Voluntary slaughter, meat (as listed with FSIS)
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals
  • Wholesale beef supply to distributors, further processors and manufacturers

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersbullsdairy cows

Products and retail

  • Beef primals
  • Beef sub-primals
  • Grind trimmings
  • Offal
  • Organic beef products
  • Grass-fed beef products
  • Conventional beef products
  • WholePasture Beef, grass-fed and grass-finished Angus
  • Rainier Premium Beef, grass-fed

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows cattle slaughter under inspection and custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, with those packages marked Not for Sale. The website describes the company as having built its reputation as a custom processor and says its cattle are raised by ranchers throughout the Pacific Northwest, with an emphasis on producer relationships and animal welfare training for everyone handling cattle from loading and transport through unloading. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, kill day availability, minimums, per-head fees and cut and wrap terms are not stated in the sources on file. Producers should contact the plant directly to confirm whether custom work is being scheduled.

Rainier Pure Beef Company reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website states the company focuses on wholesale volume to foodservice and retail distributors, further processors and manufacturers, and directs prospective customers to a sales team at orders@rainierpure.com. No retail counter, halves or quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery or shipping to households is described in the sources on file. Household buyers may encounter the company's beef through grocery retail and food service channels, and through the WholePasture Beef brand, which has its own website linked from the company site.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Rainier Pure Beef Company

Does Rainier Pure Beef process animals for individual farmers?
The federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, which means processing animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and the website says the company built its reputation as a custom processor. Booking details, fees and minimums are not stated in the sources on file, so a producer would need to contact the plant to confirm current availability.
Can a household buy beef directly from the plant?
No direct retail sales are described. The website says the company focuses on wholesale volume to foodservice and retail distributors, further processors and manufacturers, and lists orders@rainierpure.com for sales inquiries. Retail hours, halves and quarters, bundles and shipping are not stated in the sources on file.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS lists cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection. The federal record also lists poultry processing among the plant's activities, but does not list poultry slaughter.
Is the beef certified organic or grass-fed?
The company website states that its organic program meets USDA organic standards, including feed, animal care and no antibiotics or added hormones, and that its WholePasture program is 100% grass-fed and grass-finished Angus with no grain at any stage. Specific certifying agents are not named in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
December 9, 2021
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Medium volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.rainierpurebeef.com/, https://chamber.kelsolongviewchamber.org/list/member/rainier-pure-beef-3531.htm) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Woodland