Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M7457AEST. P7457A

Appalachian Abattoir

USDA-inspected slaughter and meat processing plant in Charleston, West Virginia.

4808 Kanawha Blvd East, Charleston, West Virginia 25306 · Kanawha County

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both slaughter and processing, establishment numbers M7457A and P7457A.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is August 6, 2024.
  • ·FSIS size class: small.
  • ·Species detail is not reported to FSIS; third-party listings mention cattle, sheep, goat, and hog.
  • ·No website on file; phone contact is (304) 951-2636.

About Appalachian Abattoir

Appalachian Abattoir is a USDA-inspected establishment at 4808 Kanawha Blvd East in Charleston, Kanawha County, West Virginia. It holds establishment numbers M7457A and P7457A and reports both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities to FSIS. The grant of inspection date on file is August 6, 2024, and FSIS classifies the plant in its small size category.

The establishment does not report species detail to FSIS, and no custom-exempt activity is reported in the federal record. Secondary directory listings describe cattle, sheep, goat, and pig processing, and one processor directory describes custom beef, hog, and lamb processing. Those species and custom claims come from third-party listings rather than from the plant or the federal record, so a farmer should confirm them directly. A business entity record lists Appalachian Abattoir, LLC in Charleston, West Virginia.

No website is on file for this establishment, and no hours, pricing, booking process, retail counter, or product information has been verified. Details beyond the federal record are not yet on file. The listed phone number is (304) 951-2636.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter
  • Meat processing

Products and retail

No retail products on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record shows both slaughter and processing under establishment numbers M7457A and P7457A, with a grant of inspection dated August 6, 2024, which means livestock harvested here can yield meat sold by the carcass, cut, or retail package under federal inspection. Species detail is not reported to FSIS, and no custom-exempt activity is reported, so a farmer planning a custom kill for their own freezer or for herdshare customers should call to confirm whether that is available. Third-party directories describe cattle, sheep, goat, and hog work, but scheduling windows, minimums, hanging weight terms, cut and wrap fees, and kill day availability are not stated in any source on file. Contact the plant at (304) 951-2636 before hauling animals.

Appalachian Abattoir operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

Questions about Appalachian Abattoir

What animals does Appalachian Abattoir handle?
Species detail is not reported to FSIS. Third-party directory listings describe cattle, sheep, goat, and pig or hog processing, but that is not confirmed by the plant or the federal record. Call to verify.
Can I get a custom kill for my own freezer?
No custom-exempt activity is reported in the federal record, though one processor directory describes custom beef, hog, and lamb processing. Because the sources disagree, contact the plant directly to confirm.
Does the plant sell meat to the public?
Not stated. No retail counter, bundle, delivery, or shipping information is on file in any available source.
What are the hours and how do I book?
Hours and booking procedures are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (304) 951-2636. No website is on file for this establishment.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
August 6, 2024
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Small establishment (FSIS size class)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Charleston