Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2353

Derks Meats LLC

USDA-inspected beef and hog slaughter and processing plant in Boyd, Wisconsin.

33802 115th Ave., Boyd, Wisconsin 54726 · Chippewa County

derksfarmsbeef.square.site

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·USDA establishment M2353, listed for meat slaughter and meat processing
  • ·Cattle and hogs reported as species slaughtered under inspection
  • ·Very small plant, reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is June 30, 2025

About Derks Meats LLC

Derks Meats LLC operates at 33802 115th Ave. in Boyd, Chippewa County, Wisconsin, under USDA establishment number M2353. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as very small, and its reported slaughter volume category is under 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is June 30, 2025.

In addition to federally inspected work, the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales. The associated brand Derks Farms Beef states that beef from Derks Farms is processed in the operation's own USDA inspected facility, and an online storefront is on file at derksfarmsbeef.square.site.

The storefront page returned no readable text when fetched, so product listings, pricing, ordering terms, and scheduling details are not yet on file. A Wisconsin Association of Meat Processors directory listing shows the same Boyd street address with a different phone number than the FSIS record, 715-644-0997 versus the (715) 703-0399 on file with FSIS. A chamber directory lists Derks Farms Beef at a nearby address, 33640 115th Ave. Buyers and farmers should confirm current details directly with the establishment.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowsroaster pigs

Products and retail

  • Beef

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists Derks Meats LLC for both slaughter and processing of cattle and hogs, and the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals owned by a farmer can be processed with packages marked Not for Sale. The plant is a very small establishment with a reported slaughter volume of under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, kill day schedules, minimums, hanging weight or cut and wrap fees, and disposal or hide policies are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call to confirm species accepted and scheduling, and should note that the FSIS record lists (715) 703-0399 while a state association directory lists 715-644-0997.

Derks Meats LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and the affiliated Derks Farms Beef brand describes prime quality beef sold direct from the farm and processed in the operation's own USDA inspected facility. An online storefront is on file at derksfarmsbeef.square.site, but the page returned no readable text when fetched, so available cuts, bundles, halves and quarters, pricing, pickup, delivery, and shipping terms are not on file. A social media page for Derks Farms Beef references a beef snack item suited to snack trays and cheese boards, but specific product listings are not confirmed in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Derks Meats LLC

What animals does Derks Meats slaughter?
The FSIS record reports cattle and hogs slaughtered under inspection. Other species are not listed.
Can a farmer bring their own animal for custom processing?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, which means it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, and the Derks Farms Beef brand describes beef sold direct from the farm and processed in its own USDA inspected facility. An online storefront exists at derksfarmsbeef.square.site, but its contents were not readable when fetched, so specific products, prices, and delivery terms are not on file.
Which phone number is correct?
The FSIS record lists (715) 703-0399. A Wisconsin Association of Meat Processors directory listing for the same address lists 715-644-0997. Both are shown here because the sources disagree.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
June 30, 2025
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://derksfarmsbeef.square.site/, https://wi-amp.com/directory-operators/listing/derks-meats/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Boyd