Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1403EST. P1403EST. V1403

Otto's Meats, LLC

Doing business as Otto's Meats Acquisition, LLC

Family-owned USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant with a retail meat market in Luxemburg, Wisconsin.

N5674 Adam's Street, Luxemburg, Wisconsin 54217 · Kewaunee County

ottosmeats.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptHACCP certified, per the company website

At a glance

  • ·FSIS Very Small establishment with meat slaughter, meat processing and poultry processing activities, grant of inspection date on file March 19, 2024.
  • ·Species slaughtered under inspection reported to FSIS: cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, elk or deer. The website also lists goat.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales, so farm customers and retail shoppers are both served.
  • ·Twenty published cut sheet options for beef, pork and lamb, plus an online custom cutting order form.
  • ·Website states all products are nitrate and MSG free, and describes wholesale service to more than 30 area restaurants.

About Otto's Meats, LLC

Otto's Meats, LLC, listed with FSIS as doing business as Otto's Meats Acquisition, LLC, operates at N5674 Adam's Street in Luxemburg, Kewaunee County, Wisconsin. The federal record lists establishment numbers M1403, P1403 and V1403, with FSIS activities covering meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry processing, and voluntary meat slaughter and processing. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small, with a grant of inspection date on file of March 19, 2024, and a slaughter volume category of 2.0. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, where animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes a family-owned shop that has made products in Luxemburg since 1980. Its history page states that founder Otto Knoche trained as a butcher in Germany, completed a master's in the trade at 21, came to the Green Bay area in 1975 to work for Packerland Packing, and opened his own business in Luxemburg in 1980 at the former Daul Butchering location, expanding into the current building about five years later. The site says Knoche later moved his product line away from nitrites, dyes, cereals and MSG, and that a family with local roots purchased the business, with the transition completed in February 2022 and Knoche assisting through mid-October 2022.

For processing, the website states that the shop handles locally sourced meats and accepts beef, pork, lamb, goat and more, follows state guidelines, and is HACCP certified. The species list on the website differs somewhat from the federal record, which reports cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer under inspection. The site also describes a retail meat market and a wholesale program serving more than 30 area restaurants using a delivery van. Hours, prices, booking lead times and fees are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing
  • Poultry processing
  • Voluntary meat slaughter and processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Retail meat market
  • Wholesale supply to area restaurants with delivery van
  • Standard and custom cut sheets, including online cutting order submission
  • Smoking and curing of bacon and hams
  • Sausage making

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowscalveshogssowslambselk

Products and retail

  • Beef quarters, halves and whole beef with cut sheet options
  • Chuck roast, arm roast, rump roast, round roast, sirloin tip roast
  • Rib eye, sirloin, porterhouse, T-bone, club, New York strip, round and tenderloin steaks
  • Tenderized cube steaks, breakfast steaks, stew meat, sirloin beef tips
  • Short ribs, brisket, soup bones
  • Ground beef in 1 pound packages and hamburger patties (12 pounds, quarter pounders, 4 per package)
  • Half hog and whole hog options: shoulder roasts, shoulder steaks, country style ribs, pork chops, tenderloin
  • Smoked and sliced bacon, shoulder bacon, smoked bone-in and boneless hams
  • Pork brats, beer brats, maple brats, breakfast links, ground pork
  • Whole lamb options: leg roast bone-in or boneless, shoulder roast and shoulder steaks, lamb chops, shanks, ribs, ground lamb
  • Fresh and newly frozen beef, pork and chicken cuts at retail
  • Nitrate free and MSG free items

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports both federally inspected meat slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, so animals can be handled either for sale or for the owner's own use with packages marked Not for Sale. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer; the website states the shop accepts beef, pork, lamb, goat and more, and says it processes locally sourced meats and is HACCP certified. Standard cut sheet templates are published for beef quarters, halves and wholes, half and whole hogs, and whole lamb, and the website invites customers to submit a custom cutting order online. Contact points listed are phone (920) 845-2612, text (920) 606-2611, and email ottosmeatsorders@gmail.com. Scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees and per pound cut and wrap charges are not stated in the sources on file.

Otto's Meats, LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website describes a retail store carrying a large variety of fresh and newly frozen cuts of beef, pork and chicken, with an emphasis on items that are nitrate and MSG free. The site references a login and cart, and cut sheet pages list options for beef quarters, halves and wholes, half and whole hogs, and whole lamb, which a household buying bulk meat would select from. A delivery van is described in connection with wholesale restaurant customers rather than home delivery. Retail hours, prices, shipping and whether home delivery is available are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Otto's Meats, LLC

Does Otto's Meats slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
The federal record lists both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, plus voluntary slaughter and processing, so slaughter is part of the listed activities. Cattle, hogs, sheep and lamb, and elk or deer are the species reported to FSIS.
Can I bring my own animal for my family's freezer?
The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking details, minimums and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
What cuts can I choose from?
The website publishes standard cut sheet templates: eight beef options for quarters, halves and wholes, eight pork options for half and whole hogs, and four whole lamb options. A custom cutting order can also be submitted online.
What are the store hours?
Hours are not stated in the sources on file. The listed phone number is (920) 845-2612, with a text line at (920) 606-2611 and email at ottosmeatsorders@gmail.com.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat
Grant on file
March 19, 2024
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.ottosmeats.com/, https://www.ottosmeats.com/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Luxemburg