Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M1728EST. P1728

Daniel Jackson Meat Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant on a family cattle farm in Ranburne, Alabama.

5164 County Road 49, Ranburne, Alabama 36273 · Cleburne County

danieljacksonfarms.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSISWebsite states farm animals are third-party audited annually, certified all-natural, and age and source verified

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both meat and poultry slaughter and processing, establishment M1728+P1728.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Very Small FSIS size class with reported slaughter volume under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter available for customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale.
  • ·Processing plant sits on the grounds of the family cattle farm, which the website says opened its butcher shop in 2021.

About Daniel Jackson Meat Processing

Daniel Jackson Meat Processing operates at 5164 County Road 49 in Ranburne, Cleburne County, Alabama, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M1728 and P1728. The federal record lists meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, and poultry processing activities, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small, with a grant of inspection date on file of August 25, 2023, and a slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packaged marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The plant is the processing arm of Daniel-Jackson Farms, described on its website as a third generation family-owned operation founded in 1973 as Ledbetter's Feed Mill. The business today includes a feed mill, a cattle farm, and a butcher shop. The Butcher Shop at DJ Farms launched in 2021 and is located on the Daniel-Jackson Farm grounds. The website says the facility was built to serve the family farm along with other farms in the area, and that custom processing is offered for those who choose to process their own animal.

Addresses differ between sources. FSIS lists 5164 County Road 49, Ranburne, AL 36273, while the farm website gives a visiting address of 1117 Co Rd 112, Ranburne, AL 36273. Phone numbers also differ: FSIS lists (256) 463-9841 and the website contact page lists (256) 568-3176 with the email danieljacksonmeatprocessing@gmail.com. Hours, prices, booking lead times, and retail counter details are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Processing for other farms in the area

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssowssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef from farm cattle raised on grass and finished on grain

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that the facility was created to service the Daniel-Jackson farm along with other farms in the area, and that custom processing is offered for those who choose to process their own animal. FSIS records confirm both federally inspected slaughter and custom-exempt slaughter, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection, plus poultry slaughter and processing activities. Reported slaughter volume is under 1,000 head per year and FSIS classes the plant as Very Small, so scheduling capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, kill and cut fees, hanging weight pricing, and cut and wrap options are not stated in the sources on file. Farmers should call to confirm current availability and note that FSIS lists (256) 463-9841 while the website lists (256) 568-3176.

Daniel Jackson Meat Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Daniel-Jackson Farms describes beef raised on its own multi-generational cattle farm, bred, born, and raised on the farm, raised on grass and finished on grain, with no antibiotics and no growth hormones. The website says the farm is validated by a third-party company that performs an annual audit of the animals, farm, and facilities, and states the cattle are certified all-natural and age and source verified. The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS. Details on a retail counter, halves and quarters, bundles, online ordering, delivery, or shipping are not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Daniel Jackson Meat Processing

Does this plant slaughter as well as cut and wrap?
Yes as listed. FSIS records meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, and poultry processing for this establishment.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The website states that custom processing is offered for those who choose to process their own animal, and FSIS records custom-exempt slaughter. Fees, minimums, and scheduling are not stated in the sources on file.
Which phone number and address are correct?
Sources differ. FSIS lists 5164 County Road 49 and (256) 463-9841. The farm website lists a visiting address of 1117 Co Rd 112 and phone (256) 568-3176, with email danieljacksonmeatprocessing@gmail.com. Calling to confirm before hauling is advisable.
Can households buy meat directly?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS and the website describes farm-raised beef processed on site. Retail hours, bundles, halves and quarters, shipping, and online ordering are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
August 25, 2023
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.danieljacksonfarms.com/, https://www.danieljacksonfarms.com/our-story) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Ranburne