Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M2208

Terry's Meat Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and custom cut and wrap for beef, pork, lamb, goat and bison in Blountsville, Alabama.

571 Smith Road, Blountsville, Alabama 35031 · Blount County

terrysmeatprocessing.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment M2208, listed for meat slaughter and meat processing, very small size class.
  • ·Cattle and hogs are the species slaughtered under inspection per FSIS; the website also advertises lamb, goat and bison processing.
  • ·Custom processing listed at $1.00 per pound plus a $45 inedible disposal fee, with a two to three week turnaround.
  • ·Beef over 30 months old is not accepted; the plant states it can handle long horns and injured livestock.
  • ·Website reports a full plant renovation completed in 2025 that increased capacity fourfold.

About Terry's Meat Processing

Terry's Meat Processing operates at 571 Smith Road in Blountsville, Blount County, Alabama, under USDA FSIS establishment number M2208. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with cattle and hogs reported as the species slaughtered under inspection. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small and places its slaughter volume in the lowest category, under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and returned in packages marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company website describes processing for cattle, hogs, lamb, goats and bison, with a typical turnaround of about two to three weeks. Livestock is to be delivered between 7am and 10am on an assigned drop-off date, and the site asks customers to call at least 48 hours ahead to reschedule. Cutting instructions are due within five days of drop-off for beef and three days for hogs, and orders without instructions are processed as standard. Finished orders are boxed for transport and must be picked up within two days of notification, after which a storage charge of $50 per day applies. Note that FSIS lists cattle and hogs as the species slaughtered under inspection, while the website advertises processing for additional species including lamb, goat and bison.

According to the About Us page, Terry Butts started the business in 1979 after Liberty Supermarket in Roebuck, Alabama closed. The site states the business has operated for over 46 years, that a full plant renovation was completed in 2025 increasing capacity fourfold, and that Allan Butts is the current owner. Directory listings show slightly different street numbers on Smith Road (570 and 598); the federal record lists 571 Smith Road.

Services

  • USDA-inspected slaughter of cattle and hogs
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Beef processing, cut and wrap
  • Hog processing, cut and wrap
  • Lamb processing
  • Goat processing
  • Bison processing
  • Curing and smoking
  • Cattle feeding while awaiting processing
  • Handling of long horn cattle and injured livestock
  • Sales of locally raised beef and hogs by whole or half

Species under inspection

steershogs

Products and retail

  • Ground beef
  • T-bone, filet, NY strip, sirloin, round and cubed steak
  • Rib steak and boneless ribeye
  • Flank steak, skirt steak, chuck eye steak
  • Sirloin tip, English cut, rump, shoulder, chuck, eye of round, standing rib and tri-tip roasts
  • Brisket
  • Kabobs
  • Boneless stew meat
  • Short ribs, soup bones, dog bones, ox tail, tongue, liver
  • Beef jerky
  • Pork chops, boneless pork chops, smoked pork chops
  • Country style ribs
  • Boston butt and pork steak
  • Cured and smoked ham, ham shank and butt portions
  • Cured, smoked and sliced bacon
  • Mild, regular or hot sausage and ground pork
  • Ham hocks, jowls, neck bones, pork liver
  • Summer sausage
  • Ground lamb, ground goat and ground bison

For farmers and ranchers

Farmers can bring their own cattle, hogs, lambs, goats or bison. The website lists custom processing at $1.00 per pound with a $45 inedible disposal fee, plus add-on charges such as $30 per cured and smoked ham, $15 per cured and smoked bacon, $20 per smoked pork chops, and $10 each for smoked neck bones, smoked ham hocks and cured, smoked, sliced hog jowls. Cattle feeding is offered at $5.70 per day plus feed, listed at $0.19 per pound and subject to change. The plant states it does not process beef over 30 months old and is equipped to handle long horns and injured livestock. Drop-off is by scheduled appointment between 7am and 10am, with staff contacting customers within two business days of a submitted order form. Order forms cap beef and bison at 20 head, and orders can be split between two parties only. Turnaround is about two to three weeks, and uncollected orders incur a $50 per day storage charge after two days. Under the federal record, animals processed custom-exempt come back labeled Not for Sale.

Terry's Meat Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The website offers beef and pork raised and processed in Alabama for buyers who do not own livestock, sold as whole or half animals. Beef is listed at $6.43 per pound whole and $6.48 per pound half, and hog at $4.75 per pound for whole or half, both based on dress weight, with a note that prices may increase with feed costs. Buyers choose cuts through online order forms covering steak thickness, roast size, ground meat seasoning and cured or smoked options. Meat is boxed for pickup and must be collected within two days of notification, after which a $50 per day storage charge applies. The site notes that cured products use nitrites, with cure ingredients of brown sugar, salt and sodium nitrite. No retail storefront hours, delivery or shipping terms are stated in the sources.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Terry's Meat Processing

Can I bring my own animal for processing?
Yes as listed. The website provides order forms for customers providing their own cattle, hogs, lambs, goats or bison, and the federal record shows the plant reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning customer-owned animals are returned in packages marked Not for Sale.
What does custom processing cost?
The website lists custom processing at $1.00 per pound with a $45 inedible disposal fee, plus per-item charges for curing and smoking such as $30 per ham and $15 per bacon. Prices beyond those listed are not stated.
Can I buy meat without owning livestock?
The website offers Alabama-raised beef and hogs by whole or half. Beef is listed at $6.43 per pound whole and $6.48 per pound half, and hog at $4.75 per pound, based on dress weight. Retail counter hours, delivery and shipping are not stated in the sources.
What are the drop-off and pickup rules?
Livestock is delivered between 7am and 10am on an assigned date, with at least 48 hours notice required to reschedule. Cutting instructions are due within five days of drop-off for beef and three days for hogs. Finished orders must be picked up within two days of notification or a $50 per day storage charge applies.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
March 31, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://terrysmeatprocessing.com/, https://terrysmeatprocessing.com/hog-processing) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Blountsville