Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M17250EST. P6EST. V6

Tyson Foods, Inc.

Doing business as TSD Sales and Distribution; Tyson Farms, Inc; Tyson Sales and Distribution, Inc.

Large USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and processing plant operated by Tyson Foods in Blountsville, Alabama.

67240 Main Street, Blountsville, Alabama 35031 · Blount County

tysonfoods.com

USDA inspected

At a glance

  • ·Listed with FSIS for poultry slaughter, poultry processing and meat processing.
  • ·FSIS size class: large; slaughter volume category 5.0, the top of the agency's scale.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file: February 23, 2021.
  • ·No custom-exempt activity reported to FSIS.
  • ·Website on file is the Tyson Foods corporate site, which does not detail the Blountsville location.

About Tyson Foods, Inc.

Tyson Foods, Inc. operates a USDA-inspected establishment at 67240 Main Street in Blountsville, Blount County, Alabama, listed with FSIS under establishment numbers M17250, P6 and V6. The federal record also lists the doing-business-as names TSD Sales and Distribution, Tyson Farms, Inc. and Tyson Sales and Distribution, Inc. FSIS records the plant's activities as meat processing, poultry processing and poultry slaughter, with poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection. The grant of inspection date on file is February 23, 2021.

FSIS classifies the plant in its largest size category and assigns it a slaughter volume category of 5.0, the high end of the agency's scale. No custom-exempt activity is reported, meaning the federal record does not show this establishment slaughtering or processing livestock or poultry belonging to individual owners for their own use.

The website on file is the corporate site for Tyson Foods, which describes the company as a protein-focused food company with approximately $54 billion in fiscal year 2025 sales, about 133,000 team members as of February 2026, and brands including Tyson, Jimmy Dean, Hillshire Farm, Ball Park, Wright, Aidells, State Fair and IBP. The corporate site states the company produces roughly one in five pounds of chicken, beef and pork in the United States and sells through retail, foodservice and restaurant channels. The corporate site does not describe operations, hours, services or customer intake at the Blountsville location specifically. Details beyond the federal record and corporate-level description are not yet on file.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing
  • Meat processing

Species under inspection

chickens

Products and retail

  • Chicken, beef, pork and prepared foods sold under company brands (corporate-level description, not specific to Blountsville)

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record reports poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection at this establishment and reports no custom-exempt activity, so it is not listed as a plant that processes an individual farmer's animals for return to the owner. FSIS classifies the operation as large with a slaughter volume category of 5.0. Growers or producers interested in supply arrangements would need to contact the company directly, since neither the federal record nor the corporate website states booking procedures, minimums, fees or cut and wrap options for this location.

Tyson Foods, Inc. operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

No retail counter, farm store, bundle sales, delivery or online ordering is described for the Blountsville plant in the sources on file. The corporate website describes company-branded products sold through grocery stores, club stores, discount stores and foodservice customers rather than direct sales at this establishment.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Tyson Foods, Inc.

Does this plant do custom processing for farmers?
The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at this establishment, and neither the record nor the website states that custom processing is offered.
What species are slaughtered here?
FSIS lists poultry as the only species slaughtered under inspection at this location.
Can households buy meat directly at the Blountsville plant?
Retail sales at this location are not stated in the sources on file. The corporate website describes products sold through grocery, club, discount and foodservice channels.
What are the hours?
Hours are not stated in the federal record or on the website on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
February 23, 2021
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Very large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.tysonfoods.com/, https://www.tysonfoods.com/who-we-are/our-story) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Blountsville