Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. P511

Butterball, LLC

Doing business as Carolina Turkey

Large USDA-inspected turkey slaughter and processing plant in Ozark, Arkansas, operated by Butterball, LLC.

307 Dodgen Place, Ozark, Arkansas 72949 · Franklin County

butterball.com

USDA inspectedAmerican Humane Certified, claimed company wide on the Butterball websiteNo antibiotics ever and no added hormones or steroids claims on the Farm to Family by Butterball line

At a glance

  • ·FSIS establishment P511, listed for both poultry slaughter and poultry processing.
  • ·Classed large by FSIS, in slaughter volume category 5.0, the highest volume band listed.
  • ·Grant of inspection date on file is February 26, 2021.
  • ·No custom-exempt processing reported, so farm-direct custom work is not indicated in the federal record.
  • ·The website on file is the national Butterball brand site; no page specific to the Ozark plant is on file.

About Butterball, LLC

Butterball, LLC, doing business as Carolina Turkey, operates establishment P511 at 307 Dodgen Place in Ozark, Franklin County, Arkansas. The federal record lists poultry slaughter and poultry processing activities under federal inspection, with poultry as the species slaughtered. FSIS classes the plant as large and places it in slaughter volume category 5.0, the highest volume band in the directory. The grant of inspection date on file is February 26, 2021. No custom-exempt activity is reported.

The website on file is butterball.com, the national brand site for Butterball, LLC rather than a page for the Ozark plant. That site describes a retail and foodservice turkey business supplying major retailers nationwide, with products including fresh and frozen turkey, ground turkey, turkey burgers, sausage, breast roasts, tenderloins, and turkey wings, drumsticks, and necks. The company states it has provided retail and foodservice turkey products since 1954, operates the Butterball Turkey Talk-Line each November and December, and says it was the first and remains the only commercial turkey company to earn the American Humane Certified mark. A separate brand line, Farm to Family by Butterball, is described as sourced from contracted family farms and raised with no antibiotics ever.

Plant-level details are not on file. The sources do not state whether the Ozark facility has a retail counter, whether it accepts animals from outside growers on a custom or fee basis, or what its operating hours are. A farmer or household buyer should treat the corporate website as brand and product information, not as a description of services at this address.

Services

  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection
  • Retail and foodservice turkey supply (company level, per brand website)

Species under inspection

turkeys

Products and retail

  • Whole turkey
  • Fresh all natural ground turkey 93/7
  • Ground turkey breast
  • Frozen and fresh turkey burger patties
  • Hardwood smoked turkey sausage
  • Boneless savory herb turkey breast roast
  • Turkey breast tenderloins
  • Fresh turkey wings
  • Fresh turkey drumsticks
  • Fresh turkey necks

Hours as listed

Plant hours are not stated. The website lists Consumer Affairs team hours of Monday through Friday, 9 am to 6 pm EST, and says the Turkey Talk-Line is open every November and December.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at establishment P511, and neither the FSIS listing nor the Butterball website states terms for outside growers hauling birds to the Ozark plant. The company website describes Farm to Family by Butterball turkey as sourced from contracted farm families raising birds with no antibiotics ever, but it does not publish grower contracting requirements, booking procedures, minimums, or fees. Growers interested in supply arrangements would need to contact the company directly, as no plant-level intake information is on file.

Butterball, LLC operates under a federal grant of inspection, so product from this plant can be sold anywhere in the United States, which matters if you sell online or across a state line. FSIS does not list a custom-exempt activity for this plant.

For households

The sources do not describe a retail counter, halves or quarters, bundles, delivery, or online meat ordering at the Ozark address. The Butterball website states that its turkey products are available at major retailers nationwide and offers a product finder to locate stores, and it advises checking with the store manager if a specific item or size is not on the shelf. Household consumer questions are directed to the company at 1-800-BUTTERBALL (1-800-288-8372), by text at 844-877-3456, or by live chat and email form.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Butterball, LLC

Does this plant process animals for individual farmers?
Not stated. The federal record reports no custom-exempt activity at establishment P511, and neither the FSIS listing nor the Butterball website describes custom slaughter or cut and wrap services for outside owners.
What species does the Ozark plant handle?
The federal record lists poultry as the species slaughtered under inspection. The company website describes turkey products exclusively.
Can households buy meat at the plant?
Not stated. No retail store, farm store, or on-site sales are described in the sources. The Butterball website says products are sold through major retailers nationwide and provides a product finder.
How can the facility be reached?
The federal record lists (479) 667-8501 for the Ozark establishment. Consumer questions are handled by the company at 1-800-BUTTERBALL (1-800-288-8372), Monday through Friday, 9 am to 6 pm EST, as listed.

Federal record

Activities
Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
February 26, 2021
Size class
Large
Slaughter volume
Very large volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.butterball.com/, https://www.butterball.com/about-us) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Ozark