Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M10650EST. P10650EST. V10650

Key's Family Butcher Shop

USDA-inspected slaughter and processing plant in Van Buren, Arkansas, with custom-exempt work and beef jerky.

2900 Oliver Springs Rd, Van Buren, Arkansas 72956 · Crawford County

keysfamilybutchershop.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCertified Animal Welfare Approved by AGW, as stated on the plant's website

At a glance

  • ·FSIS Very Small establishment with meat and poultry slaughter and processing, plus voluntary rabbit slaughter and processing.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter (Not for Sale) and retail-exempt sales to FSIS.
  • ·Website states operations are Certified Animal Welfare Approved by AGW.
  • ·Sells beef jerky in about a dozen flavors through an online shop.
  • ·Wild game processing is listed on the website as not currently being accepted.

About Key's Family Butcher Shop

Key's Family Butcher Shop operates at 2900 Oliver Springs Rd in Van Buren, Arkansas, in Crawford County, under establishment numbers M10650, P10650 and V10650. The federal record lists meat and poultry slaughter and processing, identification for meat and poultry, and voluntary slaughter and processing for meat and rabbit. FSIS classifies the plant as Very Small, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 13, 2021. Species slaughtered under inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb, with a reported slaughter volume category of under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and packages are marked Not for Sale, and retail-exempt sales.

The shop's website describes three processing tracks: custom-exempt processing for animals going to the family table, USDA-inspected processing for meat that will be resold, and wild game processing for deer, elk, bear and wild hog harvested during hunts. The services page states that wild game orders are currently not being accepted. The website says the operation processes beef, hogs, bison, sheep, goats and poultry, a broader list than the species reported to FSIS, and describes handling all facets of processing in house rather than shipping partly processed meat to other facilities. The site emphasizes traceability back to the farm of origin and states that operations are 100% USDA and Animal Welfare Approved.

According to the website history page, the plant was originally built by the Lasiter family in the late 1950s as a one-room slaughter house, was sold to the Garner family in 1962, and became a USDA facility in the early 1980s with cooler and freezer space for both custom and inspected slaughter. The Key family purchased the business on December 15, 2009, when it operated as Garner Abattoir, and it was formerly known as Advanced Meat Processing. Poultry slaughter under USDA inspection was added in 2013. Roger and Rita Key run the operation, with Rita joining daily operations in December 2017. A smokehouse and a fully cooked program were added later, along with online ordering for some products.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • USDA-inspected poultry slaughter and processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing (Not for Sale)
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Voluntary slaughter and processing, meat and rabbit
  • Wild game processing (listed as not currently accepted)
  • Further processing and smokehouse products
  • Wholesale ordering for restaurants and organizations
  • Online ordering for select products

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullshogssheeplambs

Products and retail

  • Beef jerky in multiple flavors, including Original, Spicy Original, Smokey, Spicy Smoke, Teriyaki, Honey Chipotle, Jalapeno, Pepper Garlic, Redneck, Spicy Redneck, Ghost Hot, Reaper Hot, Scorpion Hot, and The World's Hottest
  • Smoked and fully cooked beef, pork and chicken
  • Beef
  • Pork
  • Bison
  • Sheep
  • Goat
  • Poultry (free range chickens)

For farmers and ranchers

The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, where the customer owns the animal and packages are marked Not for Sale, and its website offers custom-exempt processing for animals going to the family table as well as USDA-inspected processing for meat intended for resale. Cut sheet forms for each track are linked from the services page. Species slaughtered under federal inspection as reported to FSIS are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb; the website also names bison, goats and poultry among species processed. FSIS lists slaughter volume as under 1,000 head per year and the size class as Very Small. The website states that all facets of processing are done in house and that meat is documented back to the farm it came from. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, minimums, kill fees and cut and wrap rates are not stated in the sources on file.

Key's Family Butcher Shop reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The plant reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, and the website sells beef jerky online in a range of flavors priced at $11.00 for most varieties, with The World's Hottest listed at a sale price of $19.95 from $29.95. The site also promotes smoked beef, pork and chicken from its smokehouse as ready-to-eat meals. Restaurants and organizations can apply through the wholesalers page for a password to order case quantities at a reduced price. Whether halves and quarters, retail counter cuts, bundles, delivery or shipping are offered is not stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Key's Family Butcher Shop

What animals does this plant slaughter?
FSIS records list cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection, along with poultry slaughter activity and voluntary rabbit slaughter. The website states the shop also processes bison and goats.
Can I bring my own animal for my family's freezer?
Yes as listed. The plant reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and its website offers a custom-exempt track with cut sheet forms.
Does the shop process deer and other wild game?
The website lists wild game processing for deer, elk, bear and wild hog harvested during hunts, but also states that wild game orders are currently not being accepted.
What are the hours and how do I book?
Hours and booking procedures are not stated in the sources on file. The contact information listed is 2900 Oliver Springs Rd, Van Buren, AR 72956, phone (479) 474-1645.

Federal record

Activities
Identification - Meat; Identification - Poultry; Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter; Voluntary Processing - Meat; Voluntary Processing - Rabbit; Voluntary Slaughter - Meat; Voluntary Slaughter - Rabbit
Grant on file
July 13, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://keysfamilybutchershop.com/, https://keysfamilybutchershop.com/about/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Van Buren