Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M6537EST. P6537

University of Florida Meat Lab

USDA-inspected university meat lab in Gainesville, Florida, with slaughter and processing for cattle, hogs, and sheep.

Bldg 459 2250 Shealy Drive, Gainesville, Florida 32608 · Alachua County

university-of-florida-meat-processing-center.wheree.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Federal establishment numbers M6537 and P6537, grant of inspection dated July 16, 2021.
  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection; poultry slaughter and processing also listed.
  • ·Reports both custom-exempt slaughter and retail-exempt sales.
  • ·FSIS size class very small, with reported slaughter under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Located on the University of Florida campus area at 2250 Shealy Drive, Gainesville.

About University of Florida Meat Lab

The University of Florida Meat Lab, also referred to as the University of Florida Meat Processing Center, operates at Bldg 459, 2250 Shealy Drive in Gainesville, Alachua County, Florida. It holds federal establishment numbers M6537 and P6537, with a grant of inspection date on file of July 16, 2021. FSIS records list activities in meat slaughter, meat processing, poultry slaughter, and poultry processing, and classify the plant as very small.

Species slaughtered under inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant's reported slaughter volume category is 1, meaning under 1,000 head per year. The establishment also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales.

No website text was available for this record. A UF/IFAS Animal Sciences page and a Facebook page under the name UF Meat Science are associated with the establishment, and one Facebook post refers to being open and stocked from 9 to 4, but scheduling, pricing, cut and wrap options, and product lists are not on file. Details beyond the federal record are not yet confirmed here.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Poultry slaughter under federal inspection
  • Poultry processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for animals owned by the customer
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogsroaster pigslambs

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

FSIS records list this establishment as slaughtering cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection, with poultry slaughter and processing activities also on file. It reports custom-exempt slaughter, so a producer can have their own animals processed with packages marked Not for Sale. Reported slaughter volume falls in the under 1,000 head per year category, and the plant is classed as very small, so capacity is limited. Booking procedures, lead times, minimums, fees, and cut and wrap options are not stated in the sources on file. Producers should contact the plant at (352) 392-1921 to confirm whether work is being scheduled.

University of Florida Meat Lab reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

The establishment reports retail-exempt sales, which indicates sales of product directly to household buyers at the plant. A Facebook page under the name UF Meat Science includes a post about being open and fully stocked from 9 to 4, but no product list, bundle or half and quarter offerings, delivery, shipping, or online ordering details are stated in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about University of Florida Meat Lab

What species can be slaughtered here?
FSIS records report cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. Poultry slaughter and poultry processing are also listed among the establishment's FSIS activities.
Can a farmer bring their own animals for personal use?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale. Scheduling, minimums, and fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Can households buy meat directly from the plant?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, which indicates direct sales are part of its operation. Specific products, prices, and hours are not stated in the sources on file, aside from one Facebook post mentioning being open from 9 to 4.
Is the plant currently accepting new customers?
That is not stated in the sources. The federal record lists the establishment as inspected with a grant date of July 16, 2021. Contact (352) 392-1921 to confirm current availability.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter; Poultry Processing; Poultry Slaughter
Grant on file
July 16, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Gainesville