Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M38552EST. P38552

B&M Processing

USDA-inspected slaughter and meat processing plant in Chatsworth, Georgia, serving cattle, hogs, and sheep.

1460 Leonard Bridge Rd, Chatsworth, Georgia 30705 · Murray County

USDA inspectedCustom-exempt

At a glance

  • ·Both slaughter and processing under federal inspection, so animals can be handled start to finish at one site.
  • ·Cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection.
  • ·Custom-exempt slaughter available for customer-owned animals, with packages marked Not for Sale.
  • ·Reports retail-exempt sales, the category covering direct sales to household buyers.
  • ·Classified by FSIS as very small, with slaughter volume category 2.0.

About B&M Processing

B&M Processing operates at 1460 Leonard Bridge Rd in Chatsworth, Murray County, Georgia, under USDA FSIS establishment numbers M38552 and P38552. The federal record lists the plant for both meat slaughter and meat processing, with a grant of inspection on file dated July 16, 2021. FSIS classifies the establishment as very small, and its reported slaughter volume falls in category 2.0, above the smallest tier of under 1,000 head per year.

Species slaughtered under federal inspection, as reported to FSIS, are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, meaning it processes animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and it reports retail-exempt sales, which is the category that covers direct sales to household buyers at the plant.

There is no website on file for this establishment. Secondary business directory listings confirm the Chatsworth address and the phone number (706) 517-3680, one listing names Mitchell Sanford as a primary contact, and a Facebook page under the name B & M Processing has posted about product pickup. Details beyond the federal record, including hours, pricing, booking windows, and cut and wrap options, are not yet on file.

This profile is written from the federal record. Details beyond it are not yet on file. Operators can add them here.

Services

  • USDA-inspected meat slaughter
  • USDA-inspected meat processing
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing for customer-owned animals
  • Retail-exempt sales

Species under inspection

beef cattleheifersbullsdairy cowscalveshogsroaster pigssheep

Products and retail

Reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS; retail products are not itemized on file.

For farmers and ranchers

The federal record lists B&M Processing for meat slaughter as well as processing, with cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb reported as species slaughtered under inspection. Producers who want carcasses or cuts they can resell would use the inspected side, under establishment numbers M38552 and P38552. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, so animals brought in for a farm family's own use can be handled with packages marked Not for Sale. Booking procedures, scheduling lead times, drop-off days, minimums, kill fees, and cut and wrap charges are not stated in any source on file, so farmers should call (706) 517-3680 to confirm what the plant handles and when.

B&M Processing reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

B&M Processing reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS, the category that allows an inspected plant to sell meat directly to household customers. A Facebook page under this business name has posted about product arriving and asked customers to pick up by a stated time, which suggests some form of direct pickup, though no source on file describes a retail counter, bundles, halves and quarters, delivery, shipping, or online ordering. Households should call the plant to ask what is available for direct purchase.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about B&M Processing

Does B&M Processing slaughter animals, or only cut and wrap?
The FSIS directory lists the establishment for both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing, so both activities are on the federal record.
Which species can be taken there?
Species reported to FSIS as slaughtered under inspection are cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. Poultry is not listed as a slaughter species, though the establishment holds a P number and a Facebook post under this business name mentioned chicken arriving for pickup.
Can I buy meat directly as a household customer?
The plant reports retail-exempt sales, which permits direct sales to households. No source on file describes a retail counter, hours, product list, or shipping, so call (706) 517-3680 to confirm.
What are the hours and how far ahead should I book?
Not stated. There is no website on file for this establishment and no source gives hours, booking windows, or fees.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
July 16, 2021
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Small volume

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Chatsworth