Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3054B

Happy Day Meats

Doing business as Happy Day Butcher Shop

USDA-inspected beef slaughter and processing in Lewiston, Idaho, with custom cutting and an online local food shop.

1840 19th Ave, Lewiston, Idaho 83501 · Nez Perce County

happydaylocal.myshopify.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt processing reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Federally inspected for both meat slaughter and meat processing under establishment M3054B.
  • ·Slaughters cattle under inspection at under 1,000 head per year, per the FSIS volume category.
  • ·Posted cut and wrap pricing for beef, pork, lamb, and wild game, with lamb, deer, and elk minimums.
  • ·Standard 10 to 14 day aging with optional extended dry aging, and vacuum sealed, labeled cuts.
  • ·Online store with local pickup at 703 Main Street in downtown Lewiston.

About Happy Day Meats

Happy Day Meats, doing business as Happy Day Butcher Shop, operates at 1840 19th Ave in Lewiston, Idaho, in Nez Perce County. The plant holds federal establishment number M3054B and reports both Meat Processing and Meat Slaughter activities to FSIS. It is listed as a small establishment, slaughters cattle under inspection, and also reports custom-exempt processing. Its FSIS slaughter volume category is 1.0, meaning fewer than 1,000 head per year. The grant of inspection date on file is August 20, 2026.

The butcher shop is a branch of Happy Day Local, which the company describes as part of the Happy Day Corporation, owner of 14 restaurants and one catering shop in Lewiston and surrounding areas. Happy Day Local began in 2021 and states that it buys directly from small and mid-sized farms, ranchers, bakers, and growers in the region, plans harvests with them, and commits to prices in advance. Alongside the butcher shop, the operation lists a bakery, aeroponics, a commissary kitchen, and freezer storage. The website describes the butcher shop as USDA certified and says beef moves from the farm to that shop.

For customers, products are sold online through the Happy Day Local shop with local pickup in downtown Lewiston at 703 Main Street. The butcher shop collection lists beef cuts, ground beef, sausages, and bundles, and the broader catalog includes pasture raised chicken, canned sockeye salmon, farm eggs, raw honey, spices, teas, and goat milk bodycare products. Hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Services

  • Cattle slaughter under federal inspection
  • Meat processing under federal inspection
  • Custom-exempt processing
  • Custom cutting of customer-owned animals
  • Beef, pork, lamb, and wild game cut and wrap
  • Dry aging
  • Vacuum sealed packaging and labeling
  • Ground and sausage products in 1 and 2 pound chubs
  • Patty making
  • Pork sausage and smoking
  • Online ordering with local pickup

Species under inspection

steersheifers

Products and retail

  • Ribeye steak
  • New York steak
  • Filet mignon
  • Top sirloin
  • Picanha steak
  • Tri tip
  • Ground beef chubs, 80/20 and 90/10
  • 6 oz hamburger patties
  • Stew meat
  • Smoked bratwursts
  • Breakfast sausage
  • Hot sausage
  • Signature Steak Flight
  • Grill and chill box
  • Labor Day Bundle
  • Pasture raised whole, half, breast, and thigh chicken
  • Canned sockeye salmon
  • Farm eggs
  • Raw unfiltered honey
  • Spices, rubs, and finishing salts
  • Teas
  • Goat milk lotions and bath products

For farmers and ranchers

The website states that customers wanting an animal custom cut should reach out to Meagan@happydayrestaurants.com. Posted cut and wrap rates are $1.10 per pound for beef with an extra $0.65 per pound for patties, $1.10 per pound for pork with Italian or breakfast sausage options and an additional $1.50 per pound for smoking, $1.00 per pound for lamb with a $100 minimum, and $1.50 per pound for wild game with a $150 minimum for deer and a $300 minimum for elk. Cut sheets are offered for download for beef, pork, lamb, and wild game. Standard aging is described as 10 to 14 days, with extended dry aging available on request. Each cut is vacuum sealed in a clear bag and labeled, and sausage and ground products come in 1 and 2 pound chubs. The plant reports cattle slaughter and custom-exempt processing to FSIS. Booking lead times, drop-off scheduling, kill fees, and hanging weight terms are not stated in the sources on file.

Happy Day Meats reports custom-exempt processing to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Products are orderable online through the Happy Day Local shop. The site describes a three step process: place an order and select local delivery as the shipping option, receive an email or text when the order is packed and ready, then pick up at 703 Main Street in Lewiston. Individual beef cuts, ground beef chubs, patties, sausages, and bundle boxes such as the Grill and chill box and Signature Steak Flight are listed, along with pasture raised chicken, eggs, honey, spices, teas, and bodycare items. Some items show as sold out at the time the site was fetched. Halves and quarters, shipping beyond local pickup, and a walk-in retail counter with posted hours are not described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Happy Day Meats

What species does this plant slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle as the species slaughtered under inspection. The butcher shop website also posts cut and wrap pricing for pork, lamb, and wild game, which indicates processing of those species, but only cattle slaughter is reported to FSIS.
How much does cut and wrap cost?
The website lists beef at $1.10 per pound, plus $0.65 per pound for patties; pork at $1.10 per pound, plus $1.50 per pound for smoking; lamb at $1.00 per pound with a $100 minimum; and wild game at $1.50 per pound with a $150 minimum for deer and $300 for elk.
Can I buy a half or quarter beef?
Halves and quarters are not listed in the sources on file. The online shop sells individual cuts, ground beef chubs, sausages, and bundle boxes.
Where do I pick up an order, and what are the hours?
The website directs online order pickup to the office at 703 Main Street in Lewiston, separate from the inspected plant address at 1840 19th Ave. Business hours are not stated in the sources on file.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
August 20, 2026
Size class
Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://www.fsis.usda.gov/inspection/fsis-inspected-establishments/happy-day-meats, https://happydaylocal.myshopify.com/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Lewiston