Local MeatNational Registry

Federally inspected establishment

EST. M3877

Legacy Beef LLC

USDA-inspected beef, pork and sheep slaughter and processing in Grangeville, Idaho, with custom cut sheets.

14 Grangeville Truck Route, Grangeville, Idaho 83530 · Idaho County

legacybeefidaho.com

USDA inspectedCustom-exemptCustom-exempt slaughter reported to FSISRetail-exempt sales reported to FSIS

At a glance

  • ·Slaughters cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under federal inspection; FSIS Very Small size class, under 1,000 head per year.
  • ·Handles both USDA-inspected and custom-exempt work, with custom packages marked Not for Sale.
  • ·Cut sheets are submitted through web forms for beef, pork, and sheep or goat, with itemized options and stated per-pound surcharges.
  • ·Owned by Camas Prairie and Idaho County cattle producers; site states the operation moved to a permanent Grangeville facility after starting with a purchased USDA plant in Clarkston, Washington.
  • ·Three different phone numbers appear across the federal record, the company site, and a local business listing.

About Legacy Beef LLC

Legacy Beef LLC operates at 14 Grangeville Truck Route in Grangeville, Idaho County, under USDA establishment number M3877. The federal record lists both Meat Slaughter and Meat Processing activities, a Very Small size class, and slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb under inspection. Reported slaughter volume falls in the lowest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year. The plant also reports custom-exempt slaughter, in which animals owned by the customer are processed and the packages are marked Not for Sale, and reports retail-exempt sales.

The company describes itself as a multi-owner venture formed by area cattle producers Derek Nuxoll, Clay Groom, Miles Hatter and Larry Hatter, who saw a need for a locally based processing facility using locally sourced beef, pork and lamb. Its website states that the team purchased a USDA facility in Clarkston, Washington as an interim step, with a plan to expand into the owners' home base of Grangeville, and a site banner announces a move to a new permanent facility in Grangeville. The federal record on file lists the Grangeville address for M3877, with a grant of inspection date of August 12, 2026. The stated mission is to supply North Central Idaho with locally raised and locally processed beef, pork and goat or sheep, and the site notes that Legacy Beef supplies Cloningers Marketplaces with local ranch raised beef and that USDA-branded meat can be sold by the piece and pound at local grocery stores.

Contact numbers differ between sources. The plant reports (509) 751-9888 to FSIS, its own contact page lists (208) 507-8905 and admin@legacybeefidaho.com, and a Grangeville community business listing shows (208) 507-1589 with Clay Groom as contact. Buyers should expect to confirm which line is current.

Services

  • Meat slaughter under USDA inspection
  • Meat processing under USDA inspection
  • Custom-exempt slaughter and processing of customer-owned animals, packaged Not for Sale
  • Retail-exempt sales
  • Online cut sheet submission for beef, pork, and sheep or goat
  • Pork smoking (bacon, hams, hocks)
  • Grinding, patty making, and sausage making

Species under inspection

beef cattlesteersheifersbullsdairy cowshogssowslambs

Products and retail

  • Chuck steak and chuck roast, O bone (shoulder) roast
  • Rib roast (prime rib), rib steak, short ribs and flanken rack
  • Porterhouse and T-bone steaks, New York strip, tenderloin
  • Tri-tip roast, sirloin steak, sirloin tip roast or steak
  • Round steak, cube steak, round roast, carne asada
  • Brisket, flank steak, skirt steak, stew meat, soup bones, marrow bones, offal, dog bones (custom only)
  • Ground beef in chub tubes, regular patties, flavored patties (jalapeno cheddar, bacon cheddar, gorgonzola, portobello)
  • Bacon (fresh or smoked, regular or peppered, thin or thick cut)
  • Whole hams and ham steaks, fresh or smoked; hocks
  • Pork steak, pork roast, pork chops, pork loin, country ribs, sirloin pork roast, spare ribs
  • Plain, maple, and breakfast sausage in bulk, links, or patties

Hours as listed

Mon-Fri 9:00AM to 5:00PM, as listed on the company contact page.

For farmers and ranchers

The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, meaning animals owned by the customer can be slaughtered and packaged with Not for Sale labeling, alongside USDA-inspected slaughter of cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb. Cutting instructions are collected through web-based cut sheets headed USDA / Custom Cutting Instructions, with separate forms for beef, pork, and sheep or goat. The beef form asks which beef producer raised the animal, and the pork form asks for hanging weight, owner, and who the meat is packaged for, which fits animals delivered by a producer or split among buyers. Stated surcharges include $2.00 per pound for cube steak or carne asada, $2.00 per pound for regular ground patties with a 25 pound minimum, $3.00 per pound for flavored patties with a 25 pound minimum per flavor, and $2.00 per pound extra for sausage links or patties. Scheduling windows, kill day availability, deposits, base per-head or per-pound kill and cut fees, and drop-off procedures are not stated in the sources on file. Slaughter volume is in the lowest FSIS category, under 1,000 head per year, so capacity is limited.

Legacy Beef LLC reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which means it can process an animal a customer already owns (a whole, half, or share bought before slaughter) and return it in packages marked Not for Sale. Most small farms have one or two plants they book with, and the plant's calendar decides the delivery date.

For households

Households can submit beef, pork, or sheep and goat cut sheets through web forms on the company site to place an order and specify steak thicknesses, roast weights, grind packaging, smoking, and sausage style. The company reports retail-exempt sales to FSIS and states that it supplies Cloningers Marketplaces with local ranch raised beef, and that USDA-branded product can be sold by the piece and pound at local grocery stores. A retail counter at the plant, prices for halves and quarters, bundle boxes, delivery, and shipping are not described in the sources on file.

If you are buying a half or quarter animal, the plant is where the animal is processed; the farm sells you the animal. Read how to buy a half cow for the sequence and the math.

Questions about Legacy Beef LLC

What species does Legacy Beef slaughter?
The federal record lists cattle, hogs, and sheep and lamb slaughtered under inspection. The company website also offers a sheep / goat cut sheet and refers to goat and sheep processing.
Can I bring my own animal for processing?
The establishment reports custom-exempt slaughter to FSIS, which covers animals owned by the customer with packages marked Not for Sale, and its cut sheets are labeled for USDA or custom cutting instructions. Booking procedures, lead times, and base fees are not stated in the sources on file.
Is the plant in Idaho or in Washington?
The federal record lists establishment M3877 at 14 Grangeville Truck Route, Grangeville, Idaho. The company website states the team purchased a USDA facility in Clarkston, Washington as an interim step and also announces a move to a new permanent facility in Grangeville.
Which phone number should I use?
The plant reports (509) 751-9888 to FSIS. Its contact page lists (208) 507-8905 and admin@legacybeefidaho.com, and a Grangeville community listing shows (208) 507-1589 with Clay Groom as contact. Which line is current is not stated.
Can I buy retail cuts directly?
Retail-exempt sales are reported to FSIS, and the website says Legacy Beef supplies Cloningers Marketplaces with local ranch raised beef and that USDA-branded meat can be sold by the piece and pound at local grocery stores. An on-site retail counter, prices, delivery, and shipping are not stated.

Federal record

Activities
Meat Processing; Meat Slaughter
Grant on file
August 12, 2026
Size class
Very Small
Slaughter volume
Very small volume (under 1,000 head per year)

Source: USDA FSIS MPI Directory (2026-09-01 edition) and the FSIS Establishment Demographic Data supplement. Profile text is drawn from the establishment's public website (https://legacybeefidaho.com/, https://legacybeefidaho.com/about-us/) and dated 2026-09-02. Verify at the FSIS directory. LocalMeat.org is not affiliated with FSIS or with this establishment; listing is not an endorsement.

Other USDA plants near Grangeville